Winning Streep tipped to attend Ireland’s oscars

ANGELINA JOLIE, Meryl Streep and Emma Thompson could all be celebrating St Valentine’s Day in Dublin tonight.

That’s if they turn up for the Irish Film and Television Awards (IFTAs), for which they are all nominated in the same category — best international actress.

However, the likelihood is that Jolie will not be sacrificing her St Valentine’s night with Brad Pitt to take to the red carpet at the Burlington Hotel.

But when it comes to the IFTAs, you just never know.

Last year Mel Gibson arrived, while this year, Meryl Streep — who is the winner in the best international actress category for her performance in Mamma Mia! — is hotly tipped to attend.

TV3, meanwhile, is sticking by its pledge to boycott the awards show, saying it is not paying money to enter the competition because it “never” wins and “there’s a recession on”.

Looking back, it seems TV3 may have a case.

It was shunned last year in the best current affairs and the best entertainment programme categories. But it did manage to squeeze a nomination into the best TV personality category with entertainment presenter Lorraine Keane. That was as close as it got, with Keane beaten to the gong by RTÉ’s Kathryn Thomas.

Perhaps the station was still bruised by its weatherman Martin King being pipped at the post in the same category by RTÉ’s Bill O’Herlihy the previous year.

But TV3 can’t preach the “never the bride” line because IFTAs organisers will quickly point out that Ireland AM presenter Mark Cagney scooped the best TV personality award in 2005, beating off competition from Pat Shortt and Gráinne Seoige who was with Sky at the time.

The coveted title has been scrapped in favour of the best international actress category.

Celebrities expected at tonight’s event include Irish directors Neil Jordan and Jim Sheridan, actor Aidan Quinn and Eric Mabius, who plays magazine exec Daniel Meade in the TV show Ugly Betty.

The Clinic’s Amy Huberman will be there minus her rugby star boyfriend Brian O’Driscoll, who is in Rome for Ireland’s Six Nations game against Italy tomorrow.

Brendan Gleeson, Jonathan Rhys Meyers, Saoirse Ronan, Sarah Bolger, Patrick Kielty, Shane Richie, Amanda Byram and Liam Cunningham are also expected.

Up to 900 people will attend the awards, which will be hosted by Ryan Tubridy and broadcast on RTÉ One at 9.30pm.

More in this section