Donoughmore make it three in a row

Donoughmore 3-13 St Patrick's, Kerry 1-5

Early resistance from the Kerry girls ended when Donoughmore’s Juliet Murphy billowed the net after 15 minutes, and on the evidence of yesterday’s performance, it will take a good side to dethrone the All-Ireland club champions.

Leading 1-6 to 0-2 at the break, they had one anxious moment after the changeover, when Eimear Knightly rattled the net. This really stung Donoughmore into retaliation and from there to the finish playing, an attractive brand of open no nonsense football, they scored at will.

Mary O’Connor finished the hour with a personal tally of 1-7, Juliet Murphy 1-3 and Aisling O’Connor 1-1, but there were huge contributions also from Edel O’Sullivan at full-back, and the half back line of Rena Buckley, Rose Cogan and an irrepressible Vera Sheehan.

St Pat’s, a combination from Beaufort and Killorglin, were having their first experience at this level, but with players of the calibre of Katie Gleeson, Deirdre Dennehy, Patrice Dennehy and Ann-Maria O’Donoghue, they will have hope for the future.

Scorers: Donoughmore: M. O’Connor 1-7, J. Murphy 1-3, A. O’Connor 1-1 A. Barrett 0-1. Ruth Ann Buckley. 0-1. St Pats: E. Knightly 1-0 P. Dennehy 0-3 M. O’Donoghue 0-1 S. Joy 0-1.

Abbeydorney 3-11 Templemore 2-5

ABBEYDORNEY captured the Munster JFC final when they overcame the stiff challenge of Templemore yesterday. The sides were level at the break, but inspired by Kerry senior, Noreen Feely who had a personal tally of 1-7 they were well clear at the end.

The remaining scores came from Sinead Bunyan (1-0), Lisa Brick (1-0), Eimear McGelligot (0-2), Edel O’Connell (0-1) and Laura O’Mahony (0-1).

Mary Ryan with 1-3, Deirdre Doyle (1-0) and Norma Maher (0-2) were on the mark for the Tipp girls.

Athea (Limerick) 1-9 Beara (Cork) 2-4

LIMERICK side Athea captured their first Munster Ladies IFC club title when defeating a brave Beara side in Killarney on Saturday.

Scorers: Athea: Louise Higgins 1-6 (0-2 frees), Leane Higgins 0-2, K Collins 0-1. Beara: V Power 1-0, S Power 1-0 pen, M Sheehan 0-2 , A Murphy 0-1 free, and B O’Sullivan 0-1.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd