Jerry bowls them over with his Friesians

IT’S been a very good July for Church Cross, Skibbereen dairy farmer Jerry Hegarty. A couple of weeks ago he won his second All-Ireland Intermediate Road-bowling title in a titanic man-to-man struggle with Ulster champion Harry Toal.

It was a bit easier last week leading his contented Friesians around the parade ring at Carbery Show in Skibbereen, but the win was no less impressive.

The Carbery Group dairy class seeks out the best group of three females from the herds which supply Carbery’s 320 million litres of milk per year from west Cork pastures.

And it was the bowling champ’s cows from his herd at Mohanagh, overlooking the Ilen River, which got the nod from championship judge David Boyd, president of the Irish Holstein Friesian Association.

It was one of five prestigious championships decided at the Carbery Show. The Cork County Beef Bull Championship was won by well-known Limousin breeder John O’Grady, Midleton for the second year in a row.

The Macroom Mills Pedigree Simmental Calf Championships were won by John Kenny (female) and Peter and Marian O’Connell, Mallow (male).

Declan Fahy, Clonakilty, showed the Cork County Yearling Champion horse.

West Cork is a stronghold for the endangered Irish Draught horse strain, and Denis Dullea, Bandon showed the winner of Carbery’s Irish Draught Mare Championship.

Pat Blake, Kilkee, Co Clare, made the trip to west Cork worth his while by winning the Boland Memorial Championship for two and three-year-old male and female horses.

Other winning exhibitors at Skibbereen included:


Dan Kearney Cup for Half-Bred or Irish Draught Mare and Foal, and Somerville Cup for Brood Mare to produce a Hunter, and D F O’Sullivan Cup for Irish Draught Colt Foal, and James Gorman Cup: Patrick Hennessy, Timoleague.

McCarthy Cup for Champion Hunter: Tina Murphy, Ballinascarthy.

Florence Wycherley Cup for Irish Draught Mare (Class 6): Jim Kingston, Drinagh.

Jerome Hayes Trophy for Irish Draught Mare (Class 7): Denis Dullea, Killountain, Bandon.

Hourihane, O’Driscoll and Hourihane Cup for Yearling Gelding, to make a Hunter: Barthy Scully, Baltimore.

Count Michalowski Trophy for 2 year old Gelding or Filly: John Burchill, Skibbereen.

Diarmuid Dineen Cup for 2 YO Filly: Ray Cahalane, Union Hall.

William Jennings Trophy for small hunter: Aoife Desmond, Bandon.

Hourihane Cup for Working Hunter: Emma Nixon Grey, Skibbereen.

Kevin O’Donovan Cup for Champion Ridden Pony: Regina Daly, Leap.

Church Restaurant Cup (Class 33): Ann Marie Prendergast, Rosscarbery Riding Centre.


Byrne, Crowley and O’Keeffe Cup for champion dairy cow in Show: Jerry Hegarty, Skibbereen.

Sheehy Trophy for most points in Cattle Section: Jerry Hegarty, Skibbereen and Albert de Cogan, Castlemartyr (joint winners).

Dr Moynihan Cup for Dairy Shorthorn Cow: Jimmy and Linda O’Donovan, Schull.

William Shiely Cup for pedigree registered 2 year old Friesian Heifer: John O’Callaghan, Farnivane, Bandon.

T D Burke Cup for champion female Friesian: Jerry Hegarty.

John Sheehy Cup for Champion Beef Bull: John O’Grady, Broomfield, Midleton.

Fiat Motors Cup for Female Hereford: Albert de Cogan, Killamuckey, Castlemartyr.

Cork Marts Cup for Beef Cow: Peter and Marian O’Connell, Mallow.

Skibbereen Charolais Club Cup for Charolais Calf: Tom Ryan, Thurles.

Bradfield Cup for champion Hereford: Albert de Cogan.

Jerry McCarthy Cup for Hereford heifer: Albert de Cogan.

Drinagh Co-Op Trophy for Group: Jerry Hegarty.

Drinagh Co-Op trophy for most points in Friesian section: Jerry Hegarty.

Southern Simmental Club Cup for Champion: Peter and Marian O’Connell, Mallow.

Charolais Society Cup for Champion: Tom Ryan, Thurles.

Limousin Cup: John O’Grady, Midleton.

Aberdeen Angus Champion (and reserve): Albert de Cogan, Castlemartyr.


Quinlan Trophy for Schools Horticulture Classes: Andrew Niblock, Skibbereen.

R W Nixon Cup for most points in Honey Section: Ann Stoutt, Caheragh.

Denis O’Leary Prize for Rich Fruit Cake: Marie Collins, Clonakilty.

Tim Seymour Prize for Novelty Cake: Karen Kingston, Drinagh.

Mrs P. O’Driscoll Trophy for most points in Junior Cookery Section: Marie Connolly, Skibbereen and Bebeanne Carey, Skibbereen.

Becher Perpetual Cup for Needlework: Skibbereen Day Centre.

Irish Examiner Cup for Amateur Photography: Stefanie Thomson, Bantry.

Hickey Cup for overall amateur photography winner: Elizabeth Fitom, Baltimore.

Pattwell Shield for best photograph: Stefanie Thomson, Bantry.

More in this section

courtsplace: church crossplace: skibbereenplace: west corkplace: mohanaghplace: ilen riverplace: baltimoreperson: jerryperson: jerry hegartyperson: harry toalperson: david boydperson: john o’gradyperson: john kennyperson: peterperson: marian o’connellperson: mallowperson: declan fahyperson: denis dulleaperson: bandonperson: carberyperson: pat blakeperson: kilkeeperson: co clareperson: dan kearneyperson: patrick hennessyperson: timoleagueperson: tina murphyperson: ballinascarthyperson: jim kingstonperson: killountainperson: hourihaneperson: o’driscollperson: barthy scullyperson: john burchillperson: skibbereenperson: ray cahalaneperson: aoife desmondperson: emma nixon greyperson: kevin o’donovanperson: regina dalyperson: ann marie prendergastperson: crowleyperson: albert de coganperson: jimmyperson: linda o’donovanperson: john o’callaghanperson: farnivaneperson: johnperson: killamuckeyperson: tom ryanperson: thurlesperson: midletonperson: andrew niblockperson: ann stouttperson: denis o’learyperson: marie collinsperson: tim seymourperson: karen kingstonperson: marie connollyperson: bebeanne careyperson: stefanie thomsonperson: bantryperson: elizabeth fitomevent: all-ireland intermediate roadevent: carbery showevent: cork county beef bull championshipevent: macroom mills pedigree simmental calf championshipsevent: cork county yearling championevent: irish draught mare championshipevent: boland memorial championshipevent: horsesevent: half-bredevent: irish draught mareevent: somerville cupevent: brood mareevent: james gorman cupevent: florence wycherley cupevent: diarmuid dineen cupevent: church restaurant cupevent: dr moynihan cupevent: william shiely cupevent: burke cupevent: sheehyevent: fiat motors cupevent: cork marts cupevent: cowevent: charolais club cupevent: bradfield cupevent: southern simmental club cupevent: charolais society cupevent: limousin cupevent: r w nixon cupevent: irish examiner cup forevent: hickey cuporganisation: ulsterorganisation: carbery grouporganisation: irish holstein friesian associationorganisation: union hallorganisation: charolaisorganisation: herefordorganisation: drinagh

Keep up-to-date with all the latest developments in Farming with our weekly newsletter

Sign up

Our Covid-free newsletter brings together some of the best bits from, as chosen by our editor, direct to your inbox every Monday.

Sign up