Coveney makes three appointments to Teagasc for five-year term

Brendan Gleeson, Dr Karina Pierce and Tom Tynan have been appointed to the Teagasc authority for a five-year term by Agriculture Minister Simon Coveney.

Mr Gleeson is a principal officer in the meat and milk policy division of the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine. Dr Pierce is a lecturer in dairy production in UCD’s School of Agriculture and Food Science and a former president of the Agricultural Science Association (ASA).

Mr Tynan has held senior management positions in Origin Enterprises, Aryzta (formerly IAWS Group) and Golden Vale. He also worked as special adviser to ex-farm minister Ivan Yates, and was executive secretary to the IFA national dairy and liquid milk committees.

Teagasc chairman Dr Noel Cawley acknowledged the valuable contributions made by retired members Jimmy Brett, Prof Pat Fottrell, Margaret Sweeney, and Martin Heraghty.

Prof Fottrell served on the Teagasc authority since 1988 and chaired the research committee, and he served on the board of An Foras Talúntais from 1973 to 1988. Mr Brett served on the authority for two periods from Apr 2002 and chaired the audit committee. Ms Sweeney served on the audit committee. Mr Heraghty chaired the finance and HR committee.

More in this section

Price info

Subscribe to unlock unlimited digital access.
Cancel anytime.

Terms and conditions apply

The Business Hub

News and analysis on business, money and jobs from Munster and beyond by our expert team of business writers.

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.

News Wrap

A lunchtime summary of content highlights on the Irish Examiner website. Delivered at 1pm each day.

Sign up

Our Covid-free newsletter brings together some of the best bits from, as chosen by our editor, direct to your inbox every Monday.

Sign up