200 celebs urge Scotland ‘to stay together’

More than 200 celebrities and public figures have urged Scotland to vote No in the referendum on whether the country should leave the UK.

200 celebs urge Scotland ‘to stay together’

Mick Jagger, Bruce Forsyth, Judi Dench, Simon Cowell and Professor Stephen Hawking are among the famous names to sign an open letter ahead of the vote on Scottish independence.

It says: “The decision on whether to leave our shared country is, of course, absolutely yours alone.

“Nevertheless, that decision will have a huge effect on all of us in the rest of the United Kingdom.

“We want to let you know how very much we value our bonds of citizenship with you, and to express our hope that you will vote to renew them.

“What unites us is much greater than what divides us. Let’s stay together.”

The letter was organised by TV historians Tom Holland and Dan Snow ahead of the poll on September 18.

The list of 215 names, which includes Oscar and Grammy winners, Olympic medallists and a Nobel prize recipient represents “the best of British talent and intellect” according to the Let’s Stay Together campaign.

Snow said: “I feel passionately about Britain and everything we’ve achieved together throughout our long shared history across these islands. I don’t have a vote in the Scottish referendum but I certainly have a view and I really hope that our shared country stays together.

“That’s why Tom and I have brought together a list of people who represent the best of British and share that view. But more than the celebrities, this is the view of the majority of people in the rest of the UK.”

Alan Sugar, who has signed the letter, said: “It’s for Scotland to decide how to vote but it has consequences for all of us. That’s why so many of us have come together to say: let’s stay together. We’ve achieved so much together and I know we can achieve so much more.”

Members of the public will be encouraged to add their name to the letter when it goes on tour across the UK this week.

Among the famous names to have signed the letter are Olympic stars Ben Ainslie, Tom Daley and Steve Redgrave, broadcasters David Attenborough and Michael Parkinson and Hollywood stars Helena Bonham-Carter, Patrick Stewart and Michael Douglas.

Andrew Lloyd Webber, Sting and Cliff Richard are also on the list along with comedians David Walliams, Steve Coogan, Ronnie Corbett and Eddie Izzard.

Snow said all of the celebrity signatories are unable to vote in the referendum. “You’ve got Mick Jagger, Judi Dench, Steve Redgrave, Simon Cowell, David Walliams, Vera Lynn — these people have found out about it and got in touch with us,” he said.

“People are keen to sign and they’re from every political... and social background, because down here in the rest of the UK we feel really strongly that we hope they stay.”

More in this section


Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox