Terrific Tullamore make history

Tullamore became the first club to win the All-Ireland Junior Cup twice in an entertaining final at Dubarry Park in Athlone on Saturday.

Winning coach John Moylan praised his pack for their role in victory: “We dominated up front and were very disciplined. We were aggressive at the breakdown, but didn’t concede kickable penalties. We attacked from the first minute and set out our stall,” said Moylan.

It was heartbreaking for Monivea, who became the first club to lose two All-Ireland Junior Cup deciders, having also lost last year’s final.

Tullamore, who defeated Navan in the 2009 decider, captured the crown with three drop goals from three different players.

Things looked bleak for Monivea when Eoin Rooney was sin binned three minutes from half-time as both sides struggled for scores.

Tullamore continued to dominate after the break and were rewarded two minutes after the restart when winger Colin Draper struck a good drop goal after a back line move broke down before David Clavin slotted over after another good surge by his pack.

And three minutes later Deverell made it 9-0. While O’Connor reduced the gap with a 71-minute penalty but it was not enough to prevent a second final loss in succession for the Galway club.

Scorers for Tullamore: Drop goals: Draper, Clavin, A Deverell.

Scorers for Monivea: Pen: O’Connor.

TULLAMORE: B Geraghty; R Deverell, D Clavin, T Gilligan, C Draper; A Deverell, R Hughes; T Bennett, C Glennon, E Brady; D Hanlon, I Deverell; J Clancy, D Milne, A Hanley.

Replacements: K.Browne for Clancy (33); P McNiff for Hanlon (49); G Molloy for Bennett (60); C Hughes for Draper (63); K Browne for Glennon (66); Bennett for Brady (66), I Scully for Gilligan (70); Brady for Clancy (74).

MONIVEA: S Fahy; C Maher, C Neary, K Higgins, G Divilly; G O’Connor, D Blade; G Fitzmaurice, B Ryan, R Coughlan; P Fitzmaurice, W Parker; M King, K Concarr, E Rooney.

Replacements: J Culkin for G Divilly (28); B Murphy for Parker (40); D McNeilis for King (46); G Divilly for Neary (52); C Divilly for Fitzmaurice (54); J Connolly for Concarr (66); King for Ryan (66).

Referee: S Gaffikin (Ulster).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox