Wimbledon suffers another technology malfunction as ball wrongly called a fault

The call of ‘fault’, rather than ‘out’, and positioning of the ball suggested the system was still tracking Fritz’s serve as opposed to a rally.
Wimbledon suffers another technology malfunction as ball wrongly called a fault

Umpire Louise Azemar-Engzell ordered the point to be replayed (John Walton/PA)

Wimbledon’s faltering electronic line calling system suffered another embarrassing malfunction during the men’s quarter-final clash between Taylor Fritz and Karen Khachanov.

Swedish umpire Louise Azemar-Engzell called ‘stop’ in the opening game of the fourth set on Court One when ‘fault’ was incorrectly called after a Fritz forehand landed well inside the baseline.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

You have reached your article limit.

Subscribe to access all of the Irish Examiner.

Annual €130 €80

Best value

Monthly €12€6 / month

More in this section

Sport

Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers. and reporters

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited