Austin Stacks advance to league final

Dr Crokes will face Austin Stacks in the 2015 Kerry Division 1 SFL final following Stacks’ 1-12 to 0-7 victory over Legion in the Division 1 play-off at Fitzgerald Stadium yesterday.

Austin Stacks advance to league final

Legion were without their two marquee forwards James O’Donoghue and Conor Keane, and despite a spirited opening 10 minutes of the second half, they were second best to their Tralee opponents for long spells.

The sides were level on 0-3 apiece at the end of the opening quarter, with Kieran Donaghy winning clean possession at midfield, and kicking a fine point, along with scores from David Mannix and Fiachna Mangan.

Jamie O’Sullivan (2) and Jonathon Lyne replied for Legion. Stacks kept Legion scoreless for the rest of the half, and added points from Shane Carroll (2) and Mangan to lead 0-6 to 0-3 at the interval.

After another Carroll point, Legion stormed back into the contest, with three unanswered points from David and Jamie O’Sullivan along with Lyne.

However that was as good as it got for Legion, who have now lost three big games on the trot, as Stacks took over and added five more points and a goal from Dara O’Brien, to clinch a meeting with Crokes in the final, which will be played after Christmas. At the other end of the table Finuge, St Michaels-Foilmore and Waterville are relegated.

In Division Two, Kenmare and Templenoe are promoted with Templenoe — who won the Munster Junior Club title convincingly yesterday — a game in hand against Gneeveguilla. Victory there will see them go up as champions.

Rathmore, John Mitchels, Spa and St Mary’s have all finished on 15 points so there will be a four way play-off to decide the third side to gain promotion.

Tarbert and Currow are relegated and the third relegation place rests between Gneeveguilla, who are on six points with a game to play, and Laune Rangers who are on seven points.

Beaufort were crowned Division Three champions with Listry and An Ghaeltacht also promoted.

Ballymacelligott, Na Gaeil and Skellig Rangers were relegated.

Ballydonoghue topped Division Four and they will be joined in the step up by Dromid Pearses and St Senan’s. Cordal, Cromane and Castlegregory were relegated.

Renard won the Division Five title and they will be joined in Division Four by Moyvane and Valentia in 2016.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.