No stopping Banner bandwagon as U17s crowned Munster kingpin

Clare 1-15 Tipperary 0-7

Tipperary came into the game looking to win their third straight title but they were no match for a Clare side who dominated from the first whistle.

Playing with the wind in the first half, Clare opened up a five-point lead inside the opening quarter of an hour, with Conal Ó hAiniféin and Keelan Sexton scoring two points each.

Clare captain Michael Duffy put in a man of the match display and he scored the game’s only goal from a penalty midway through the first half.

It took Tipperary 17 minutes to get their opening points. Duffy and Sexton added further points before the break to give Clare a commanding 1-9 to 0-2 half-time lead.

There was to be no let-up from Clare in the second half as Eimhín Courtney and Darren Nagle fired over well-worked points.

Stephen Quirke scored two points in quick succession for Tipperary but Clare remained in complete control throughout. Sexton scored his second free just before the full-time whistle to seal a convincing 11 point win for Clare.

Scorers for Clare: M Duffy (1-3, 1f), K Sexton (2fs), C O’hAiniféin (0-3 each), D Nagle, E Hanrahan, E Courtney (0-2 each).

Scorers for Tipperary: P White (0-3, 2fs), S Quirke (0-2), L Duffy, J Bergin (0-1 each).

CLARE: E O’Kelly; C Downes, P Lillis, L Tierney; D Nagle, J Woods, C O’Dea; E Hanrahan, D Walsh; C O’hAiniféin, K Sexton, N McCarthy; E Courtney, M Duffy, S Malone.

Subs: M Byrne for S Malone (48), E Callinan for N McCarthy (54), N Murray for M Duffy (57).

TIPPERARY: J Brady; R Dennehy, L Ryan, F Linnane; S Kelly, W O’Connor, D Owens; J Kennedy, S Quirke; R Peters, P White, E Moloney; L Duffy, S Lonergan, D McGrath.

Subs: M O’Connor for J Kennedy (30), J Bergin for S Kelly (30), B Norris for R Peters (52), B McCarthy for E Moloney (57), C O’Shaughnessey for W O’Connor (58).

Referee: Seamus Mulvihill (Kerry).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up