McLoughlin hopes for Horgan red reprieve

Cork defender Lorcan McLoughlin is hoping “common sense” prevails and Pat Horgan is cleared to face Kilkenny in the All-Ireland hurling quarter-final on Sunday week.

McLoughlin hopes for Horgan red reprieve

Selector Kieran Kingston confirmed yesterday that the Cork camp would appeal the decision of referee James McGrath to show the Glen Rovers forward a red card for what he deemed to be a strike with the hurley on the back of Paudie O’Brien’s head during last Sunday’s Munster final.

“I just hope once Patrick Horgan’s red card is reviewed and that common sense is used,” said McLoughlin. “You’d hate to see a hurler of his quality to miss out on such an important game as Kilkenny.”

The timing of the dismissal was almost as significant as the decision itself given it came on the stroke of half-time and offered Limerick the perfect opportunity to consider how best to deploy against the 14 men.

“It was hugely disappointing just before half-time. Limerick had all the elements in their favour in the first-half with the wind at their backs, the sun at their backs, playing on their own pitch and then we were down to 14 men.

For Horgan there was nothing to do but look on as Cork fell away in the last quarter before succumbing to a nine-point loss and McLoughlin admitted that his team-mate had found it difficult to process his situation.

“He couldn’t believe it you know? And I think that was the feeling right throughout the team. We couldn’t believe that he was sent off. And even watching it back you can see there was no intent in the strike.”

Meanwhile, Donal O’Sullivan was appointed the new manager of the Cork minor football team at last night’s county board meeting in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Castletownbere clubman O’Sullivan was a selector under Brian Cuthbert in 2010 and ‘11 and then replaced Haulie O’Neill on Ephie Fitzgerald’s management team earlier this year when O’Neill became a senior selector. His selectors will be announced in due course.

Under any other business, Castlehaven delegate Michael Maguire — a former Cork senior goalkeeper, and an All-Ireland medallist in 1989 and ’90 as the late John Kerins’ understudy — was critical of the county naming a ‘dummy’ team for the recent Munster senior final.

Cork made three changes before throw-in from the side which had been selected, and Maguire, a former Cork team-mate of current manager Conor Counihan, also described the substitution of his clubmate Damien Cahalane in first-half injury time as “unacceptable”.

“If someone is going that badly, bring them off after 15 or 20 minutes or else wait until half-time, it was unacceptable to do it when they did.”

Prior to the meeting, delegates were shown a presentation on the redevelopment of Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

The current covered (south) stand will have its capacity increased to 16,000 while the uncovered stand will be covered and be able to seat 8,000, giving the stadium a total capacity of 45,000. In addition, the back of the south stand will also feature a 1,000-seater stand for viewing of action on the new centre of excellence’s playing pitch, which may be used for club games. It is estimated that the redevelopment will cost €67m, giving a boost of €22m to the local construction industry.

Cork Championship draws

SFC fourth round: A) Castlehaven v Newcestown, B) St Vincent’s/Newmarket v Clonakilty, C) Carbery v Ballincollig, D) Ilen Rovers v Aghada, E) Carbery Rangers v St Finbarr’s, F) Bishopstown v CIT, G) O’Donovan Rossa v Nemo Rangers, H) Douglas v St Nicholas/Dohenys

Quarter-finals: A v B, C v D, E v F, G v H.

Premier IFC fourth round: A) Ballinora v Nemo Rangers, B) Mallow v Béal Áthan Ghaorthaidh, C) Bantry Blues v Clyda Rovers, D) Na Piarsaigh v Glenville, E) St Michael’s v Valley Rovers, F) Naomh Abán v Kiskeam

Quarter-finals: A v B, C v D, E v F, Castletownbere v Macroom.

IFC fourth round: A) Rockchapel v Cloyne, B) Ballydesmond v Kildorrery, C) Adrigole/Mayfield v Éire Óg, D) Grenagh v Fermoy, E) Canovee/Glanmire v Kanturk, F) Glanworth v Cill na Martra

Quarter-finals: A v B, C v D, E v F, Youghal v Aghabullogue.

Premier IHC fourth round: A) Inniscarra v Blarney, B) Kilworth v Ballyhea, C) Carrigaline/Cloyne v Youghal, D) Tracton v Bandon, E) Kilbrittain v Valley Rovers, F) Mallow v Watergrasshill

Quarter-finals: A v B, C v D, E v F, Newcestown v Castlelyons.

IHC fourth round: A) Argideen Rangers v Meelin, B) Charleville v Kanturk, C) Milford v Ballygarvan, D) Fr O’Neills v Fermoy, E) St Catherine’s v Kildorrery, F) Dripsey/Dromina v Barryroe

Quarter-finals: A v B, C v D, E v F, Aghada v Éire Óg.

* The SHC draw will take place at 10.30am on Friday.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPerson: McLoughlinPerson: HorganPerson: Lorcan McLoughlinPerson: Pat HorganPerson: Kieran KingstonPerson: James McGrathPerson: Paudie O’BrienPerson: Patrick HorganPerson: Donal O’SullivanPerson: O’SullivanPerson: Brian CuthbertPerson: Haulie O’NeillPerson: Ephie FitzgeraldPerson: O’NeillPerson: Michael MaguirePerson: John Kerins’Person: MaguirePerson: Conor CounihanPerson: Damien CahalaneEvent: MunsterEvent: All-IrelandEvent: Munster senior finalEvent: Cork championshipOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: ChaoimhOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: NewcestownOrganisation: St Vincent’sOrganisation: NewmarketOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: CarberyOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: Ilen RoversOrganisation: AghadaOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: CIT,Organisation: O’Donovan RossaOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: DouglasOrganisation: St NicholasOrganisation: DohenysOrganisation: BallinoraOrganisation: MallowOrganisation: Béal ÁthanOrganisation: GhaorthaidhOrganisation: Bantry BluesOrganisation: Clyda RoversOrganisation: Na PiarsaighOrganisation: GlenvilleOrganisation: St Michael’sOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: Naomh AbanOrganisation: KiskeamOrganisation: BOrganisation: CastletownbereOrganisation: MacroomOrganisation: RockchapelOrganisation: CloyneOrganisation: BallydesmondOrganisation: KildorreryOrganisation: AdrigoleOrganisation: MayfieldOrganisation: GrenaghOrganisation: FermoyOrganisation: GlanmireOrganisation: KanturkOrganisation: GlanworthOrganisation: Cill na MartraOrganisation: COrganisation: DOrganisation: AghabullogueOrganisation: InniscarraOrganisation: BlarneyOrganisation: KilworthOrganisation: BallyheaOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: TractonOrganisation: BandonOrganisation: KilbrittainOrganisation: WatergrasshillOrganisation: EOrganisation: FOrganisation: CastlelyonsOrganisation: IHCOrganisation: Argideen RangersOrganisation: MeelinOrganisation: CharlevilleOrganisation: MilfordOrganisation: BallygarvanOrganisation: Fr O’NeillsOrganisation: St Catherine’s
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd