Rochestown back in big time after long absence

FOR the first time in over half a century, Rochestown College will partake in the Corn Uí Mhuirí this afternoon when they face Clare’s St Flannan’s in Group A of this season’s competition.

Rochestown College won the competition in 1950 but, after excellent underage work in recent years, they are back at the top grade in Munster Colleges football.

“We’ve had a lot of very good results in the last few years,” said manager Eamonn Hennessy.

“We won the U14 Cork Colleges A title for the second successive year last year, and also won the Munster U16½ B title and Cork Colleges senior B title. We’re picking players from very good clubs like Douglas, Nemo Rangers, St Finbarr’s, St Michael’s and Passage.”

Rochestown College will be looking for Alan O’Donovan, Jack Somers, David Meaney and Eoin Dolan to inspire them. Their Clare opponents reached last year’s Frewen Cup final where Stephen Ward, Shane O’Donnell, Sean Corry and Martin O’Leary were hugely impressive. Clare minor hurler Tony Kelly, who won a county IFC medal with Clondegad last Sunday, is also available.

In the other clash in Group A, Intermediate School Killorglin will face West Clare Colleges in Glin.

The Kerry school have a young team this year with Listry midfielder Gary O’Sullivan ably supported by Kevin O’Sullivan, Aaron Gamble and Devon O’Flaherty. The Clare combination side are drawn from Kilmihil, Kildysart, Kilrush and Kilkee and are competing for the second year.

Conor McNeilus, who was involved with the Clare minors this season, Joe Downes, Sean Garry and Eamonn O’Dea are their four survivors from last year’s team.

In Group B St Brendan’s (Killarney) will face off against St Fachtna’s (Skibbereen) for the fourth successive year when they meet in Cloughduv. The Kerry school will be anchored by defender Kieran Murphy while attacking trio David O’Donoghue, Darragh Stack and Bryan O’Shea, a nephew of former Kerry senior boss Pat, all featured in last season’s campaign.

St Fachtna’s are spearheaded by Brian O’Driscoll and Patrick Rossiter. Kevin Davis, son of former Cork All-Ireland winner Don, and Michael Hurley are other notable figures in their line-up.

Five members of Tipperary’s All-Ireland minor football winning squad will be part of the High School Clonmel side facing Tralee CBS in Newcastlewest this afternoon. Goalkeeper Evan Comerford and wing-forward Bill Maher started in the triumph over Dublin last month, while Adrian McGuire was introduced during the second half. Kevin Fahy and Tom Kirwan were panellists and will spearhead a strong team.

Tralee CBS will be looking to build on the side that swept to Frewen Cup success last March. Argent Kastrati is a strong defender, while Greg Horan and Danny Carroll are emerging talents and attacker Niall Sheehy was involved with the Kerry minor squad.

In Group D, there is an all-Cork clash in Ballincollig when Coláiste Spioraid Naoimh (Bishopstown) face De La Salle (Macroom).

Both sides can call on Cork minors with Bishopstown defender Conor Dorman involved with Coláiste Spioraid Naoimh and Iveleary attacker Cathal Vaughan featuring for De La Salle. All of this afternoon’s games have a throw-in time of 2.30pm.

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: GlinPlace: CloughduvPlace: TipperaryPlace: BallincolligPerson: Éamonn HennessyPerson: Alan O’DonovanPerson: Jack SomersPerson: David MeaneyPerson: Eoin DolanPerson: Stephen WardPerson: Shane O’DonnellPerson: Sean CorryPerson: Martin O’LearyPerson: Tony KellyPerson: Gary O’SullivanPerson: Kevin O’SullivanPerson: Aaron GamblePerson: Devon O’FlahertyPerson: KildysartPerson: KilkeePerson: Conor McNeilusPerson: Joe DownesPerson: Sean GarryPerson: Eamonn O’DeaPerson: Kieran MurphyPerson: David O’DonoghuePerson: Darragh StackPerson: Bryan O’SheaPerson: PatPerson: St FachtnaPerson: Brian O’DriscollPerson: Patrick RossiterPerson: Kevin DavisPerson: DonPerson: Michael HurleyPerson: Tralee CBSPerson: Evan ComerfordPerson: Bill MaherPerson: Adrian McGuirePerson: Kevin FahyPerson: Tom KirwanPerson: Argent KastratiPerson: Greg HoranPerson: Danny CarrollPerson: Niall SheehyPerson: Conor DormanPerson: IvelearyPerson: Cathal VaughanEvent: Frewen CupEvent: Cork All-IrelandOrganisation: RochestownOrganisation: Rochestown CollegeOrganisation: Corn Uí MhuiríOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: St FlannanOrganisation: Munster Colleges footballOrganisation: Cork CollegesOrganisation: DouglasOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: St Michael’sOrganisation: PassageOrganisation: ClondegadOrganisation: Intermediate School KillorglinOrganisation: West Clare CollegesOrganisation: Kerry schoolOrganisation: ListryOrganisation: St Brendan’sOrganisation: KillarneyOrganisation: St FachtnaOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: High School ClonmelOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: Tralee CBSOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: Coláiste Spioraid NaoimhOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: De La Salle
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.209 s