I was impeded running for the ball in a one-on-one, insists Brogan

DUBLIN attacking star Bernard Brogan last night insisted on Twitter that he was fouled by Kildare defender Aindriú MacLochlainn which led to the controversial free he pointed to hand Dublin victory in last Sunday’s Leinster semi-final in Croke Park.

Responding to Mayo forward Conor Mortimer, Brogan tweeted, ‘@Conmort your right, I was impeded running for the ball in a one-on-one, that’s a free in my book, end of. Don’t start @Woolberto :). At the end of his tweet Brogan was referring to former Laois player Colm Parkinson who questioned the validity of the free but he did receive support from Mortimer. ‘I’d say it wasn’t the first time in the game either boss good winner #composure’.

Meanwhile the Dublin minor footballers, managed by former senior Dessie Farrell, will be bidding to reach the Leinster final when they face off against Kildare in tonight’s semi-final in Parnell Park at 7.30pm. Farrell has named an unchanged team for the clash from the side that beat Longford at the quarter-final stage.

Conaire Quigley and Patrick Reilly have been drafted into the Louth team for tonight’s other Leinster MFC semi-final against Meath at Páirc Tailteann at 7.30pm. Jamie Mulholland and Conor Grimes are both injured, meaning their places are taken by Quigley and Reilly in goal and at full forward respectively.

Meath have made one change for that game with Dunsany’s Declan Smyth coming in at wing back in place of Barry McConnon.

Cork boss Brian Cuthbert has made three changes for Sunday’s Munster MFC final against Tipperary from the team that defeated Clare in last month’s semi-final in Ennis. Stephen Cronin is drafted in at left corner-back with Kevin Fulignati moving to the edge of the square with the injured Conor Dorman making way. At midfield Darragh Murphy replaces Kevin Kavanagh while Alan Cadogan, younger brother of Cork dual star, Eoin, will start at centre-forward.

Opponents Tipperary have made two alterations in personnel for the game. Colin O’Riordan comes in at half-back with Bill Maher moving to wing-forward as Dean Lonergan makes way. Philip Quirke is in at centre-forward as Ian Fahey is shifted to midfield instead of Darragh Butler.

DUBLIN (MF v Kildare): R O’Hanlon; G Hannigan, R McDaid, R Real; J McCaffrey, J Small, E Boyne; E Ó’Conghaile, P O’Higgins; C Meaney, G Ivory, E Lowndes; S Fulham, C Kilkenny, D Campbell.

Subs: L Stacey, P Mannion, R Noonan, D Byrne, M Mac Donncha, R Mullins, A O’Brien, E Archbold, C Pike, C Costello, S Carthy, K Kindlon, M O’Dea.

MEATH (MF v Louth): R Burlingham; A Forde, C McGill, O Fitzpatrick; C Finn, S Melia, D Smyth, P Harnan, S McEntee, N Shorthall, B O’Brien, C O’Sullivan, B McMahon, R Farrelly, W McGrath.

CORK (MF v Tipperary): J McDonnell; J Davis, K Fulignati, S Cronin; K Crowley, B O’Driscoll, TJ Brosnan; S Kiely, D Murphy; M Sugrue, A Cadogan, C Vaughan; D MacEoin, S O’Mahony, C O’Sullivan.

TIPPERARY (MF v Cork): G Slattery; N Sullivan, C O’Sullivan, S Kennedy; C O’Riordan, D Fitzell, A McGuire; S O’Brien, I Fahey; G Henry, P Quirke, B Maher; L McGrath, M Quinlivan, TJ Ryan.

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: croke parkplace: parnell parkplace: páirc tailteannplace: ennisperson: broganperson: bernard broganperson: aindriu maclochlainnperson: conor mortimerperson: conmortperson: woolbertoperson: colm parkinsonperson: mortimerperson: dessie farrellperson: farrellperson: conaire quigleyperson: patrick reillyperson: jamie mulhollandperson: conor grimesperson: quigleyperson: reillyperson: dunsanyperson: declan smythperson: barry mcconnonperson: brian cuthbertperson: stephen croninperson: kevin fulignatiperson: conor dormanperson: darragh murphyperson: kevin kavanaghperson: alan cadoganperson: eoinperson: colin o’riordanperson: bill maherperson: dean lonerganperson: philip quirkeperson: ian faheyperson: darragh butlerperson: dublinperson: r o’hanlonperson: g hanniganperson: r mcdaidperson: r realperson: j mccaffreyperson: j smallperson: e boyneperson: e o’conghaileperson: p o’higginsperson: c meaneyperson: g ivoryperson: e lowndesperson: s fulhamperson: c kilkennyperson: d campbellperson: l staceyperson: p mannionperson: r noonanperson: d byrneperson: m mac donnchaperson: r mullinsperson: a o’brienperson: e archboldperson: c pikeperson: c costelloperson: s carthyperson: k kindlonperson: m o’deaperson: r burlinghamperson: a fordeperson: c mcgillperson: o fitzpatrickperson: c finnperson: s meliaperson: d smythperson: p harnanperson: s mcenteeperson: n shorthallperson: b o’brienperson: c o’sullivanperson: b mcmahonperson: r farrellyperson: w mcgrathperson: corkperson: j mcdonnellperson: j davisperson: k fulignatiperson: s croninperson: k crowleyperson: b o’driscollperson: tj brosnanperson: s kielyperson: d murphyperson: m sugrueperson: a cadoganperson: c vaughanperson: d maceoinperson: s o’mahonyperson: g slatteryperson: n sullivanperson: s kennedyperson: c o’riordanperson: d fitzellperson: a mcguireperson: s o’brienperson: i faheyperson: g henryperson: p quirkeperson: b maherperson: l mcgrathperson: m quinlivanperson: tj ryanevent: leinsterevent: leinster mfc semi-finalevent: munster mfc finalorganisation: twitterorganisation: dublinorganisation: kildareorganisation: longfordorganisation: louthorganisation: meathorganisation: clareorganisation: corkorganisation: tipperary
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up