Nicks get vote to beat Rossas

TONIGHT: SFC: St. Nicks v O'Donovan Rossa at Newcestown, 7.15 p.m. BOTH sides are without key players which should make it wide open.

Eddie Nealon (knee) and Shane Crowley (shoulder) are out of the Skibb team while Nicks are without Paul O'Brien, who has a collar bone injury. Donal Óg O'Donovan is back for the city side after injury and they will also include Robert Brosnan, Co U-21 player Dave Cunningham, Liam Leahy, Shane Kennefick and Diarmuid Dorris.

Rossas have urged Don Davis to give them another season and he has answered the call. County seniors Kevin O'Dwyer and Conor McCarthy and seasoned campaigner Joe O'Driscoll will also be in the line up.

Nicks have won their opening round for the last three years but failed to advance any further. The time is now ripe to build on their 2003 U-2 success and they should shade the issue.

Verdict: St. Nicks win.

IFC: Ballinora v Fermoy at Riverstown, 7 p.m.

THE inclement weather last week caused this game to be postponed but nothing has happened in the intervening week to alter the view that Ballinora won't win.

Verdict: Ballinora win.

TOMORROW: SFC: Dohenys v UCC at Kilmurry, 3.30 p.m.

POSTPONED from last week due to ground conditions, UCC's challenge has been furthered strengthened by the availability of John Hayes.

He didn't play with Carbery in their midweek defeat because of injury and has now declared for the college.

Verdict: UCC win.

SFC: Avondhu v Duhallow at Knocknagree, 3 p.m.

The Avondhu selectors have adopted a policy of only considering players who are prepared to give a commitment and it has worked well. Duhallow could feel the brunt of it.

Kilshannig's Colm O'Dee will be in goal, with the Monaghan brothers Mike and Tom (Kildorrery), Daniel Luddy (Killavullen), Tom Fehin (Churchtown) and Jimmy O'Shea (Ballyclough) all in line for inclusion.

Duhallow are one of the few divisions who make the effort. They'll be backboned by Sean Murphy (Lyre), Niall Cronin, Donal Herlihy, Padraig O'Leary (Kiskeam), Denis O'Brien (Newmarket), James Daly (Boherbue) and Seamus O'Sullivan (Dromtarriffe) and it should be one of the better first round games.

Verdict: Avondhu win.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd