Limerick game ends following ‘ugly’ row

Pallasgreen 1-9 Bruree 0-9

With five minutes remaining, and Pallasgreen ahead by one goal, players, mentors and supporters from both sides got involved in a brawl, which lasted about five minutes.

A county board official said they were awaiting the referee's report. A spokesman for the Pallasgreen club said it was difficult to say what sparked the row as there had been no prior incidents to what had been a sporting contest.

One observer described the scene at the end as “ugly”.

Pallasgreen, with a sixth minute goal from Ned Gammell, led 1-6 to 0-5 at the interval, and the second period developed into a points swapping exercise between Maurice Kirby and James O’Brien. A win was vital to keep both sides’ interest alive in the championship.

Scorers: Pallasgreen; M. Kirby 0-8, N. Gammell 1-0, C. McMahon 0-1. Bruree: James O'Brien 0-5, James C O'Brien 0-2, C. O'Brien, B. Hayes 0-1 each.

PALLASGREEN: E.Mulcahy; J. Kiely, W. McCarthy, J. Ryan, J. O'Connell, A. Kirby, L. O'Dwyer; L. McMahon; T. Hourigan, T. Blackwell, M. Kirby, K. Ryan, N. Gammell, C. McMahon.

BRUREE: D. Lane; J. Frawley, S. O'Sullivan, C. Sexton, P. Sexton, S. McDonogh, JP Murphy; E. Morrissey, JV O'Brien; C. O'Brien, J. O'Brien, B. Hogan, JC O'Brien, M. O'Brien, S. O'Connell.

Referee: D O'Driscoll.

Patrickswell 3-15 Kilmallock 2-18

EOIN Ryan threw Kilmallock a lifeline with a last second equalising point in a thrilling Limerick SHC clash at Bruff.

Now the south Limerick side need only draw with Murroe-Boher in their concluding game in their League section to make it to the quarter finals.

The 'Well, already through, had the bit between their teeth after 44 minutes when they led 1-13 to 0-12, but Andrew O’Shaughnessy ensured a nail-biting climax when he latched on to a loose ball to beat keeper Eoin Murphy with a cracking shot.

Within seconds he had equalised and the points on offer were now up for grabs. The goals flowed, with Billy Mann and Brian Murray doing the job for Patrickswell, and Mark Cronin having Kilmallock's second with just minutes left.

Patrickswell had slightly the better of matters in the opening half and turned over with a 0-10 to 0-7 advantage.

Scorers: Patrickswell: P. O'Grady 0-6, B. Murray, B. Geoghegan 1-2 each, B. Mann 1-0, Peter O'Reilly, B. Foley 0-2 each, E. Foley 0-1. Kilmallock: E. Ryan. C. O'Dwyer 0-5, A. O'Shaughnessy 1-3, M. Cronin 1-1, D. O'Mahony 0-2, K. O'Mahony, P. Tobin 0-1 each.

PATRICKSWELL: E. Murphy; C. Murray, A. Foley, P. Earls, T. O'Brien, E. Foley, Paul O'Reilly; P. O'Grady, B. Mann; Peter O'Reilly, D.O'Grady, B. Foley, J. McDermott, B. Murray, K. Carey. Sub. B. Geoghegan for McDermott.

KILMALLOCK: G. O'Mahony; L. Hurley, J. Deady, D. Clarke, A. Maguire, B. Carroll, K. O'Mahony; D. O'Mahony, S. O'Sullivan; P. Tobin, C.O’Dwyer, L. Walsh, A. O'Shaughnessy, M. Cronin, E. Ryan.

Referee: H. Ryan (Askeaton)

Ahane 2-15 Murroe-Boher 1-13

AHANE, joint favourites to win the championship this season, guaranteed a quarter final berth against Murroe Boher, at Caherconlish.

Though they had only five points to spare at the finish they were always in control. In fact, the losers had just five scores from play, with veteran Eoin O'Neill hitting 1-8 of their total from placed balls.

It was O'Neill who put Murroe Boher in front but they knew they were in for a hard slog after six minutes when Brian Healy goaled at the other end, to leave it 1-2 to 0-2. O'Neill kept the losers in the chase and they went in 1-9 to 0-8 in arrears.

James Moran (2) and Seanie O'Connor widened the gap, but O'Neill, from a penalty, ensured that Ahane needed to be on the alert. In 51 minutes, O'Connor settled it with Ahane's second goal.

Scorers: Ahane: S. O'Connor 1-3, B. Healy 1-0, J. Meskell 0-4, J. Moran 0-3, N. Moran 0-2, O. Moran, J. Doheny, A. Smith 0-1 each. Murroe-Boher: E. O’Neill 1-8, P. McNamara 0-2, C. Brouder, P. Laffan, K. Tobin 0-1 each.

AHANE: F. McCarthy; R. Meskell, P. Conway, D. Fitzgerald, C. O'Reilly, O. Moran, C. Smith; J. Meskell, D. Laing; J. Doheny, J. Moran, N. Moran, B. Healy, S. O'Connor, A. Smith.

MURROE-BOHER: W. Tobin; M. Kett, B. Nolan, J. O'Connor, W. Walsh, S. O'Neill, P. O'Connor; K. Tobin; C.Brouder; J. Butler, P. Laffan, P. McNamara, D. Brouder, E. O'Neill, P. Tobin.

Referee: J. Sexton (Bruree).

In other championship games, Na Piarsaigh had a big win over a disappointing Doon and Knockainey got the better of Killeedy.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: HospitalPlace: CaherconlishPerson: Declan O'DriscollPerson: Ned GammellPerson: Maurice KirbyPerson: James O’BrienPerson: M. KirbyPerson: N. GammellPerson: C. McMahonPerson: James O'BrienPerson: James C O'BrienPerson: C. O'BrienPerson: B. HayesPerson: E.MulcahyPerson: J. KielyPerson: W. McCarthyPerson: J. RyanPerson: J. O'ConnellPerson: A. KirbyPerson: L. O'DwyerPerson: L. McMahonPerson: T. HouriganPerson: T. BlackwellPerson: K. RyanPerson: C.Person: D. LanePerson: J. FrawleyPerson: S. O'SullivanPerson: C. SextonPerson: P. SextonPerson: McDonoghPerson: JP MurphyPerson: E. MorrisseyPerson: JV O'BrienPerson: J. O'BrienPerson: B. HoganPerson: JC O'BrienPerson: M. O'BrienPerson: D O'DriscollPerson: PatrickswellPerson: RyanPerson: Andrew O’ShaughnessyPerson: Eoin MurphyPerson: Billy MannPerson: Brian MurrayPerson: Mark CroninPerson: P. O'GradyPerson: B. MurrayPerson: B. GeogheganPerson: B. MannPerson: Peter O'ReillyPerson: B. FoleyPerson: E. FoleyPerson: E. RyanPerson: C. O'DwyerPerson: A. O'ShaughnessyPerson: M.Person: D. O'MahonyPerson: K. O'MahonyPerson: P. TobinPerson: E. MurphyPerson: C. MurrayPerson: A. FoleyPerson: P. EarlsPerson: T. O'BrienPerson: Paul O'ReillyPerson: D.O'GradyPerson: J. McDermottPerson: K. CareyPerson: McDermottPerson: G. O'MahonyPerson: L. HurleyPerson: DeadyPerson: D. ClarkePerson: MaguirePerson: WalshPerson: O'ShaughnessyPerson: H. RyanPerson: AhanePerson: Murroe BoherPerson: Eoin O'NeillPerson: O'NeillPerson: Brian HealyPerson: James MoranPerson: Seánie O'ConnorPerson: O'ConnorPerson: S. O'ConnorPerson: B. HealyPerson: J. MeskellPerson: J. MoranPerson: N. MoranPerson: O. MoranPerson: J. DohenyPerson: A. SmithPerson: MurroePerson: E. O’NeillPerson: P. McNamaraPerson: C. BrouderPerson: P. LaffanPerson: K. TobinPerson: F. McCarthyPerson: R. MeskellPerson: P. ConwayPerson: D. FitzgeraldPerson: C. O'ReillyPerson: C. SmithPerson: D. LaingPerson: MoranPerson: W. TobinPerson: M. KettPerson: J. O'ConnorPerson: W. WalshPerson: P. O'ConnorPerson: C.BrouderPerson: J. ButlerPerson: E. O'NeillPerson: J. SextonOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: PallasgreenOrganisation: Limerick SHCOrganisation: KilmallockOrganisation: BruffOrganisation: south Limerick
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd