More red tape, more gnashing of teeth ahead

A friend who’s a good deal better informed than yours truly — don’t all shout at once about the size of that club, thanks — pointed out to me lately that the decision to withdraw what is known as the ‘Nash rule’ motion about the placement and taking of frees in hurling from the recent GAA Congress is not the same thing as condemning said proposal to the dustbin.
Anything but, as the substantive aim of the motion is now to be considered by another body which is considerably more opaque in its operation than Congress: the exact phrase from the GAA’s website regarding the rule is this: “Central Council will provide an interpretation of Rule 4.25 in due course.”