Labour choose two junior ministers for Seanad nominations

Labour has chosen two junior ministers to stand for the upcoming Seanad elections.

Labour choose two junior ministers for Seanad nominations

Ministers of state Kevin Humphreys and Aodhán Ó Ríordáin, who both failed to get re-elected in the general election, have received the nominations after a party-member postal vote.

Mr Humphreys has been nominated to run for the Administrative panel, while Mr Ó Ríordáin has been nominated for the Industrial and Commercial panel. The party will also endorse Denis Landy, for the Agricultural panel, and Ged Nash, for the Labour panel.

Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil should announce their nominations on Monday. Fine Gael is likely to select former TDs who lost their seats in the election. These include Jerry Buttimer, Ray Butler, James Bannon, Noel Coonan, Kieran O’Donnell, and Gabrielle McFadden. Three new candidates who ran in the general election — Maura Hopkins, Anne-Marie Dermody, and Neale Richmond — are also tipped.

Fianna Fáil is expected to select candidates to target constituencies where they do not have Dáil representation, or where they would be hopeful in the next general election. Some 43 of the 60 members of the Seanad are chosen by an electorate of 1,200, made up of the incoming Dáil, the outgoing Seanad and councillors. Eleven are nominated by the Taoiseach, while six are elected by university graduates — three each by the National University of Ireland and Trinity College Dublin.

More in this section

War of Independence Podcast

A special four-part series hosted by Mick Clifford

New episodes available each Tuesday during December

Available on

Commemorating 100 years since the War of Independence