Google Photos keeps uploading pics to cloud after uninstalling app

The Google Photos app has been found to keep uploading photos from your device to the cloud, even after the app has been uninstalled.

Nashville Business Journalist editor, David Arnott, discovered this issue after uninstalling the app months ago before later deciding to give it another shot. After re-downloading the app, he found that the photos he had taken since deleting the app had been uploaded.

It’s been found that Google Photos' uploader settings are linked to the Google Settings app on Android phones rather than its own settings. These settings also handle things like Google's locations, backup and search settings.

It’s thought that this unusual situation is because Google Photos used to be a part of Google+.

If you once used Google Photos and don’t want your pics uploaded to the cloud, you’ll need to open the Google Settings app and turn off the "Google Photo Backup" option.

More in this section

IE_180_logo
Price info

Subscribe to unlock unlimited digital access.
Cancel anytime.

Terms and conditions apply

The Business Hub
Newsletter

News and analysis on business, money and jobs from Munster and beyond by our expert team of business writers.

Sign up
Lunchtime
News Wrap

A lunchtime summary of content highlights on the Irish Examiner website. Delivered at 1pm each day.

Sign up
Revoiced
Newsletter

Our Covid-free newsletter brings together some of the best bits from irishexaminer.com, as chosen by our editor, direct to your inbox every Monday.

Sign up