James McCarthy and Stephen Ward add to Martin O’Neill’s injury list

Martin O’Neill has lost another two of his probable starting team for Saturday’s World Cup qualifier in Austria after injury prevented James McCarthy and Stephen Ward making the final 28-man squad last night.
James McCarthy and Stephen Ward add to Martin O’Neill’s injury list

First-choice striker Shane Long was already ruled out of last week’s provisional squad with an ankle injury but the withdrawal of another pair, albeit unsurprising given their recent lay-offs, limits the Derryman’s options for a pivotal fixture.

Also ruled out through injury are Cyrus Christie and Stephen Quinn, potential replacements for Ward and McCarthy respectively, but John O’Shea is included despite his ongoing hamstring problems.

Good news emerged for League of Ireland fans as Dundalk’s uncapped pair Daryl Horgan and Andy Boyle both survived the cull from the provisional squad and will be involved in today’s first training session at the FAI headquarters ahead of Thursday’s departure to Vienna.

Ward’s absence due to the hamstring tear he suffered at Old Trafford 10 days ago presents O’Neill with a selection and positional dilemma.

He has the option of moving Ciaran Clark wide from central-defence yet is more likely to redeploy Robbie Brady from midfield back to the berth he occupied for a chunk of the Euro 2016 qualifiers and the tournament opener against Sweden.

All the indications are that Harry Arter will earn his first competitive cap in midfield alongside Glenn Whelan and Jeff Hendrick, with Wes Hoolahan assuming the No 10 spot in place of Brady. Jon Walters may be thrust into the central striker’s role.

Meanwhile, injury has also robbed Austria of a couple of mainstays. Werder Bremen playmaker Zlatko Junuzovic and Sebastian Prödl of Watford miss out and are replaced by Fulham’s Michael Madl and Karim Onisiwo from Bundesliga outfit Mainz.



Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday), Colin Doyle (Bradford City).


Seamus Coleman (Everton), Richard Keogh, Alex Pearce (Derby County), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), Paul McShane (Reading), Shane Duffy (Brighton & Hove Albion), Andy Boyle (Dundalk)


Aiden McGeady (Preston North End*), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion), Jeff Hendrick (Burnley), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O’Kane (Leeds United), David Meyler (Hull City), Stephen Gleeson (Birmingham City), Robbie Brady, Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), Jonathan Hayes (Aberdeen), Daryl Horgan (Dundalk)


Jonathan Walters (Stoke City), Adam Rooney (Aberdeen), Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town)

*Indicates player is currently on loan

More in this section

SoccerWorld Cup 2018IrelandPlace: AustriaPlace: FAIPlace: ViennaPlace: Old TraffordPerson: James McCarthyPerson: Stephen WardPerson: Martin O’NeillPerson: Martin OPerson: NeillPerson: Shane LongPerson: DerrymanPerson: Cyrus ChristiePerson: Stephen QuinnPerson: WardPerson: McCarthyPerson: John O’SheaPerson: Daryl HorganPerson: Andy BoylePerson: O’NeillPerson: Ciaran ClarkPerson: Robbie BradyPerson: Harry ArterPerson: Glenn WhelanPerson: Jeff HendrickPerson: Wes HoolahanPerson: BradyPerson: Jon WaltersPerson: Zlatko JunuzovicPerson: Sebastian ProdlPerson: Michael MadlPerson: Karim OnisiwoPerson: Darren RandolphPerson: Keiren WestwoodPerson: Colin DoylePerson: Seamus ColemanPerson: Richard KeoghPerson: Alex PearcePerson: Paul McShanePerson: Shane DuffyPerson: Aiden McGeadyPerson: James McCleanPerson: Eunan O’KanePerson: David MeylerPerson: Stephen GleesonPerson: Callum O’DowdaPerson: Jonathan HayesPerson: Jonathan WaltersPerson: Adam RooneyPerson: Kevin DoylePerson: David McGoldrickEvent: Euro 2016Organisation: League of IrelandOrganisation: DundalkOrganisation: SwedenOrganisation: AustriaOrganisation: Werder BremenOrganisation: WatfordOrganisation: FulhamOrganisation: BundesligaOrganisation: MainzOrganisation: West Ham UnitedOrganisation: Sheffield WednesdayOrganisation: Bradford CityOrganisation: EvertonOrganisation: Derby CountyOrganisation: SunderlandOrganisation: Newcastle UnitedOrganisation: ReadingOrganisation: Brighton & Hove AlbionOrganisation: Preston North EndOrganisation: West Bromwich AlbionOrganisation: BurnleyOrganisation: Stoke CityOrganisation: BournemouthOrganisation: Leeds UnitedOrganisation: Hull CityOrganisation: Birmingham CityOrganisation: Norwich CityOrganisation: Bristol CityOrganisation: AberdeenOrganisation: Colorado RapidsOrganisation: Ipswich Town
Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd