United hit new low after MK Dons thrashing

Capital One Cup Second Round

United hit new low after MK Dons thrashing

Manchester United suffered one of the most humiliating defeats in their long and proud history as MK Dons piled yet more misery on Louis van Gaal.

The new United boss, now without a win in three matches, watched on in misery as his team were knocked out of the Capital One Cup at the second-round stage with a 4-0 defeat.

Will Grigg and Arsenal loanee Benik Afobe scored a brace apiece as United were easily downed by a team that began the night 38 places below them in the league ladder.

“I have a lot of family who are United fans, so this is a dream come true,” said Grigg last night.

Louis van Gaal said: “I have seen them trying to their utmost best. You can’t expect more of the players.”

It was a hugely embarrassing defeat — one that brought back unwanted memories of their last League Cup second-round fixture in 1995, when they lost to York.

But it was nothing more than the Red Devils deserved.

A team showing 10 changes from the 1-1 draw at Sunderland never settled all night. Fringe players like Danny Welbeck, Javier Hernandez, Shinji Kagawa and Anderson were given chances to fight for a place in the first team.

But they all under-performed. Until the dying stages, when the Dons’ victory had already been assured, home goalkeeper David Martin had very little to do.

United handed the victory to the Sky Bet League One side on a plate thanks to a shabby defensive performance.

Jonny Evans, captain for the night, made a glaring error to hand the Dons the lead and from then on it never looked like the underdogs were going to lose.

Van Gaal may have Angel di Maria to count on to aid his recovery — the £59.7m signing was confirmed just before kick-off — and on this evidence, many more replacements are needed, particularly at the back.

MILTON KEYNES DONS: Martin, Baldock, Kay, McFadzean, Lewington, Carruthers (Green 61), Potter, Reeves, Alli, Bowditch (Powell 56), Grigg (Afobe 66).

MAN UTD: De Gea, Vermijl, Evans, Michael Keane, James, Janko, Anderson, Kagawa (Januzaj 20), Powell (Wilson 57), Welbeck, Hernandez.

Referee: Stuart Attwell (Warwickshire)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox

Execution Time: 0.233 s