McBride slams home to end Waterford drought

IN their third game of the campaign, Waterford United finally broke their duck with a first goal that earned them all three points against Finn Harps.

The long awaited score came on 77 minutes when Harps goalkeeper Ciaran Gallagher parried a good effort from Gary Keane and Willie John McBride crashed the rebound into the roof of the net from close range.

United had earlier been denied an opener when Kenny Browne’s header from a Conor Sinnott corner was cleared off the line by James Doherty.

The visitors’ best efforts in front of goal both came from Kevin McHugh, the best of which, on 55 minutes, he blazed over the bar from point blank range.

WATERFORD UNITED: Burns, Long, Browne, Murray, Barrett, Sinnott, Quinn (Dempsey 88), Coady, Keane, Dunphy (Wilson 92), Kiely.

FINN HARPS: Gallagher, Doherty, Coll, McLoughlin (Foy 29), Maley, O’Grady, McMenamin (Merritt 78), McHugh, Harking, Whoriskey, Cowan.

Referee: Sean Grant (Wexford).

Mervue United 1 Shelbourne 2

By Declan Rooney

SHELBOURNE maintained their 100% record as goals from Conan Byrne and Stephen Paisley gave them victory at Fahy’s Field last night.

Cassidy’s opener after 19 minutes put Shels in command but Rory Gaffney equalised for Mervue eight minutes after the restart.

However, Paisley headed the winner for Shelbourne in the 64th minute to seal their third straight win of the campaign.

MERVUE UNITED: Hanley; Curran, Browne, Conneely, Ludden; Crehan, King, Tierney, Gaffney; Goldbey (Casserley 75), Molloy.

SHELBOURNE: Delany; Ryan (James 73), Clancy, Boyle, Paisley; Dawson, D McGill, Cassidy, Hughes (Bermingham 87), Byrne (Mulhall 61); B McGill.

Referee: John McLoughlin (Dublin).

Limerick FC 1 Longford 0

By Bernard O’Neill

JEFF JUDGE supplied a fine individual effort as Limerick FC got back to winning ways at Jackman Park last night.

The Lims midfielder rounded Longford keeper Alvin Rouse after a 30-yard run to supply a fine finish five minutes after the break that was enough to earn the points.

LIMERICK: Ryan, Frost, McCarthy, Purcell, Tracy, O’Leary, Judge, S Tracy (O’Connor 86) Breen, Hynes, Quinn.

LONGFORD: Rouse, O’Reilly, Lee, Hope, Deans, Hyland, Roche (Skelly 55) Salmon, Cowan, Walsh, Morley (Oladele 86).

Referee: Jim McKell (Tipperary).

Monaghan United 3 Salthill Devon 0

By Peter Hughes

TEN-MAN Salthill Devon were overpowered by Monaghan United in this one-sided clash at Gortakeegan.

Devon were already trailing to a third-minute Sean Brennan strike when midfielder Mick Quirke saw red for striking out at the United goalscorer.

A fierce Jason Marks volley extended United’s lead on 36 minutes and Brennan grabbed his second just before the break.

Salthill summoned spirited resistance in the second half, Cian Fadden clearing off the line when John Reilly looked set to extend United’s lead. Etenda Nkololo then went close to snatching a consolation for the visitors.

However, it required a magnificent last-minute save from Robbie Forde to deny Brennan his hat-trick.

MONAGHAN UNITED: Sava; Whelan, Rogers (Haran 46), Collins (Byrne 64), Grimes; Foley (Loughran 76), McMahon, Reilly, Marks; Brennan, Fitzgerald.

SALTHILL DEVON: Forde; Conlon, Whelan (Quinlan 76), Fadden, O Leidhinn; Nkololo, Quirke, McBrien, Greaney; Straut (McConnell 83), Collins (Lyons 84).

Referee: John Grimes (Dublin).

More in this section

SoccerPlace: Fahy’s FieldPlace: DublinPlace: Jackman ParkPlace: LongfordPlace: TipperaryPlace: GortakeeganPlace: MonaghanPerson: McBridePerson: Finn HarpsPerson: HarpsPerson: Ciaran GallagherPerson: Gary KeanePerson: Willie John McBridePerson: Kenny BrownePerson: Conor SinnottPerson: James DohertyPerson: Kevin McHughPerson: BurnsPerson: LongPerson: BrownePerson: MurrayPerson: BarrettPerson: SinnottPerson: QuinnPerson: DempseyPerson: CoadyPerson: KeanePerson: DunphyPerson: WilsonPerson: KielyPerson: GallagherPerson: DohertyPerson: CollPerson: McLoughlinPerson: Foy 29Person: MaleyPerson: O’GradyPerson: McMenaminPerson: MerrittPerson: McHughPerson: HarkingPerson: WhoriskeyPerson: CowanPerson: Sean GrantPerson: Declan RooneyPerson: Conan ByrnePerson: Stephen PaisleyPerson: CassidyPerson: ShelsPerson: Rory GaffneyPerson: PaisleyPerson: HanleyPerson: CurranPerson: ConneelyPerson: LuddenPerson: CrehanPerson: KingPerson: TierneyPerson: GaffneyPerson: GoldbeyPerson: CasserleyPerson: MolloyPerson: ShelbournePerson: DelanyPerson: RyanPerson: JamesPerson: ClancyPerson: BoylePerson: DawsonPerson: D McGillPerson: HughesPerson: ByrnePerson: B McGillPerson: John McLoughlinPerson: Bernard O’NeillPerson: Alvin RousePerson: FrostPerson: McCarthyPerson: PurcellPerson: TracyPerson: O’LearyPerson: JudgePerson: S TracyPerson: O’ConnorPerson: BreenPerson: HynesPerson: RousePerson: O’ReillyPerson: LeePerson: HopePerson: DeansPerson: HylandPerson: RochePerson: SalmonPerson: WalshPerson: MorleyPerson: OladelePerson: Jim McKellPerson: Peter HughesPerson: Sean BrennanPerson: Mick QuirkePerson: Jason MarksPerson: BrennanPerson: Cian FaddenPerson: John ReillyPerson: NkololoPerson: Robbie FordePerson: SavaPerson: WhelanPerson: RogersPerson: CollinsPerson: GrimesPerson: FoleyPerson: LoughranPerson: McMahonPerson: ReillyPerson: MarksPerson: FitzgeraldPerson: FordePerson: ConlonPerson: FaddenPerson: O LeidhinnPerson: QuirkePerson: McBrienPerson: GreaneyPerson: StrautPerson: McConnell 83Person: John GrimesOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: Waterford UnitedOrganisation: UnitedOrganisation: Mervue UnitedOrganisation: ShelbourneOrganisation: MervueOrganisation: Limerick FCOrganisation: LongfordOrganisation: LIMSOrganisation: Monaghan UnitedOrganisation: SalthillOrganisation: Devon
Price info

Subscribe to unlock unlimited digital access.
Cancel anytime.

Terms and conditions apply


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox