Two enforced changes to Ireland team as Keith Earls returns to matchday squad

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has made two enforced changes to the Ireland team to face Wales in Saturday's Six Nations clash.

Two enforced changes to Ireland team as Keith Earls returns to matchday squad

Caelan Doris will miss Ireland’s Guinness Six Nations clash with reigning Grand Slam champions Wales due to a head injury, with Peter O’Mahony recalled in his place.

Back-row Doris has been subject to return-to-play protocols after being forced off inside five minutes of his international debut during Saturday’s win over Scotland.

Head coach Andy Farrell’s other change to his starting XV for the visit of Wayne Pivac’s men sees Robbie Henshaw selected at outside centre in place of the injured Garry Ringrose.

Ringrose was taken off at half-time against the Scots due to a hand problem and has also been ruled out of Ireland’s trip to face England at Twickenham later this month.

Farrell’s enforced reshuffle means Leinster back-row Max Deegan could make his debut from the bench, while wing Keith Earls is also included among the replacements.

With 21-year-old Doris unavailable for this weekend’s match in Dublin, CJ Stander switches to replace him in the number-eight position, with the experienced O’Mahony coming in to win his 66th cap at blindside flanker.

Stander was Ireland’s stand-out performer against Gregor Townsend’s side after moving into the centre of the back row following Doris’ nasty collision and subsequent early departure.

Tadhg Furlong has overcome tightness in his calves to start in the front row, while fellow prop Dave Kilcoyne retains his place among the replacements, despite suffering a head injury after coming off the bench against Scotland.

IRELAND (v Wales):

15. Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 22 caps

14. Andrew Conway (Garryowen/Munster) 19 caps

13. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 41 caps

12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 24 caps

11. Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 26 caps

10. Jonathan Sexton (St Marys College/Leinster) 89 caps Captain

9. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 79 caps

1. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 96 caps

2. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 9 caps

3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 42 caps

4. Iain Henderson (Academy/Ulster) 54 caps

5. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 24 caps

6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) 65 caps

7. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 24 caps

8. CJ Stander (Shannon/Munster) 38 caps


16. Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster) 1 cap

17. Dave Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster) 37 caps

18. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 24 caps

19. Devin Toner (Lansdowne/Leinster) 68 caps

20. Max Deegan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 0 caps

21. John Cooney (Terenure College/Ulster) 9 caps

22. Ross Byrne (UCD/Leinster) 4 caps

23. Keith Earls (Young Munster/Munster) 82 caps

More in this section

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd