Ref clears Magne
Referee Roy Maybank today withdrew the yellow card he showed to Olivier Magne after video evidence proved he had not been deliberately elbowed by the London Irish flanker.
Magne, the France international, was sent to the sin-bin after clashing with Maybank 52 minutes into the Exiles’ frenetic victory over Bristol on Saturday.
London Irish launched a staunch defence of their player this morning - declaring he had “no case to answer” – and, after reviewing the video, Maybank agreed the clash had been accidental.
A statement from the Rugby Football Union confirmed: “Roy Maybank has now reviewed the DVD of the incident and, upon careful reflection, he has decided to withdraw the yellow card. London Irish have been informed of this decision.”
Maybank has been criticised for his all-round performance at the Madejski Stadium on Saturday.
And in their initial defence of Magne, the Exiles brought into question his positioning for a number of incidents during the game.
On one occasion Maybank was dumped to the floor after finding himself in the path of Bristol’s charging loose-forward Geraint Lewis.
London Irish said: “Olivier is seen to come from behind Referee Maybank and accidentally brush past him as the French international tries to get back into his place in the Irish defensive line.
“Mr Maybank found himself directly caught up in the action on more than three occasions during the game and was accidentally knocked over by a Bristol player in one such incident in the first half.”