Polished Munster dispose of Glasgow

Munster 26 Glasgow 10

Munster 26 Glasgow 10

Munster finally broke their Celtic League duck with a polished win over lowly Glasgow at Musgrave Park.

Their first win of the season, in front of 3,500 at the Cork venue, was well celebrated, especially when you consider that Alan Gaffney’s men are missing 25 players – 11 to Ireland’s World Cup assault down under and fourteen are currently resident in the sick bay.

It was a low-scoring opening as a sole Jeremy Staunton penalty on 36 minutes, following a burst into the Glasgow ’22 by full back Dominic Crotty, was the game’s only score until centre Mike Mullins touched down close to the visitors’ posts in first-half injury time.

Staunton converted to give the home side a 10-0 interval lead but their ascendancy in possession had still not been hammered through on the scoreboard.

The Garryowen out-half hammered out a further three penalties in the second period for a nineteen-point advantage before flanker David Wallace scored his second try in three games with Glasgow down to 13 men on the hour.

Both Glasgow skipper Paul Dearlove and number 8 Donnie MacFayden received their marching orders, and with Wallace crashing over and Staunton converting, the Scots were 26 points in arrears, going into the final quarter.

They dug deep however and a tiring Munster pack gave way to them, as excellent field positioning saw centre Sean Lamont score on 79 minutes to reduce the deficit.

Fullback Stuart Moffatt also notched a try in injury time, but both were unconverted and Munster held out for a 16-point victory.

Scorers: Munster: Wallace, Mullins tries; Staunton 2 cons, 4 pens;

Glasgow: Moffatt, Lamont tries

Munster: Dominic Crotty, Martin McPhail, Mike Mullins, Jason Holland, Mossie Lawlor, Jeremy Staunton, Eoin Reddan, Simon Kerr, Andy Long, Frank Roche, Trevor Hogan, Stephen Keogh, Denis Leamy, David Wallace, Jim Williams (capt). Replacements: Eugene McGovern, James Blaney, Donal Sheahan, Colm McMahon, Frank Murphy, Conrad O'Sullivan, Clem Casey.

Glasgow: Stuart Moffat, Jon Steel, Graeme Morrison, Sean Lamont, Rory Kerr, Daniel Parks, Kenny Sinclair, Matt Proudfoot, Simon Gunn, Lee Harrison, Andrew Hall, Joe Beardshaw, Roland Reid, Paul Dearlove (capt), Donnie Macfadyen. Replacements: Scott Lawson, Euan Murray, Nathan Ross, Rory McKay, Mark McMillan, Calvin Howarth, Alan Bulloch

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox