Lacklustre Leinster get drubbing in final warm-up game

Leinster 19 Bath 39: Semesa Rokoduguni, Harry Davies and George Ford helped themselves to second-half tries at Donnybrook last night, as Leinster’s pre-season campaign ended with a 20-point defeat against Bath.

Lacklustre Leinster get drubbing in final warm-up game

In their final warm-up game ahead of next Friday’s Guinness Pro12 opener against Treviso, Leinster were facing into an early 13-point deficit, courtesy of eight points from the boot of Rhys Priestland and a 5th-minute try by lock Dave Attwood.

The Blues finally opened their account on 16 minutes with a well-worked five-pointer from Adam Byrne, and this was swiftly followed by a converted Ross Molony try from the subsequent attack.

However, it was Bath who had the final say in the opening period, with Jeff Williams diving over in the right-corner to help the visitors to establish a 20-12 interval cushion.

In a similar vein to their two previous encounters, Leinster made wholesale changes for the start of the second-half, but just past the hour mark, they found themselves falling further behind.

An audacious off-load by Bath replacement Dave Sisi left winger Rokoduguni with the simple task of touching down on the right-wing. This left Leinster with a mountain to climb in the final-quarter, and even though superb approach work by Rory O’Loughlin resulted in a 72nd-minute try for Barry Daly, Bath sealed their win with subsequent breakaway five-pointers from Davies and Ford.

Scorers for Leinster:

A Byrne, R Molony, B Daly try each, J Carbery, R Byrne con each.

Scorers for Bath:

D Attwood, J Williams, S Rokoduguni, H Davies try each, R Priestland 2 pens, 2 cons, G Ford try, 2 cons.


R Kearney; G Ringrose, R O’Loughlin, N Reid, A Byrne; J Carbery, J Gibson-Park; C Healy, J Tracy, M Bent; R Molony, M McCarthy; J Murphy, D Leavy, P Timmins.


B Byrne, A Porter, J Loughman, H Triggs, D Ryan, N McCarthy, C Marsh, Z Kirchner, S McNulty, P Dooley, I Nagle, J van der Flier, C Rock, R Byrne, T Daly, B Daly.


A Watson; J Williams, M Clark, D Bowden, S Rokoduguni; R Priestland, K Fotuali’i; N Auterac, R Batty, H Thomas; D Attwood, L Charteris; M Garvey, D Denton, T Faletau.


T Dunn, N Catt, K Palma-Newport, C Ewels, T Ellis, D Sisi, W Homer, G Ford, R Jennings, H Davies. George Ford


F Murphy (IRFU).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.


Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox