Leinster record facile eight-try win over scoreless Zebre

Leinster 52 Zebre 0: They were missing a host of players to international duty, but with a total of eight tries over the course of the action, Leinster recorded a facile Guinness Pro12 victory over Zebre at the RDS last night.
Leinster record facile eight-try win over scoreless Zebre

Leo Cullen recalled Cian Healy and Mike Ross to his front-row following their recent injury lay-offs, and although Zebre initially held firm, a powerful drive by lock Hayden Triggs yielded a ninth-minute try — his first in the Leinster colours.

His former Auckland Blues compatriot Isa Nacewa was on hand to supply the bonuses, and the skipper subsequently claimed a seven-point salvo at the end of a sweeping attacking move on 18 minutes.

A third Leinster touch down inevitably arrived through replacement scrum-half Luke McGrath, and with right-wing Adam Byrne also crossing over for his maiden score at first-team level, Leinster brought an insurmountable 26-0 cushion into the second half.

Gianluca Guidi’s visitors provided a stern resistance in the third-quarter, before No 8 Jordi Murphy dotted down for the four-time champions just shy of the half-hour mark.

Substitute hooker Sean Cronin (fresh from his appearance in Ireland’s stalemate with Wales) added his name to the scoresheet from a 68th-minute attack, and thanks to outstanding five-pointers from Garry Ringrose and Cian Kelleher in the latter stages, Leinster concluded their evening’s work in considerable style.

Scorers for Leinster:

I Nacewa try, 3 cons, H Triggs, L McGrath, A Byrne, J Murphy, S Cronin, G Ringrose, C Kelleher try each, C Marsh 3 cons.


Z Kirchner; A Byrne, G Ringrose, B Te’o, I Nacewa; C Marsh, I Boss; C Healy, J Tracy, M Ross; R Molony, H Triggs; D Ryan, J van der Flier, J Murphy.


L McGrath for Boss (10), C Kelleher for Nacewa (41), S Cronin for Tracy, M Bent for Ross (both 46), N Reid for Te’o (50), D Leavy for Ryan (55), T Denton for Triggs (57), P Dooley for Healy (64).


U Beyers; D Berryman, T Boni, M Pratichetti, K Van Zyl; M Azzolini, L Burgess; B Postiglioni, O Fabiani, G Roan; G Koegelenberg, M Bortolami; E Caffini, J Meyer, J Cook.


F Ruzza for Caffini (46), A De Marchi for Postiglioni (49-64), P Ceccarelli for Roan (49), M Muliaina for Azzolini (55), F Cristiano for Cook (63), G Toniolatti for Van Zyl (65), E Coria for Fabiani (70), F Ferrarini for Meyer (76).


B Whitehouse (Wales).

More in this section

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd