Sean O’Brien set to discover fate after Pape spat

Seán O’Brien will learn his Rugby World Cup fate today after being cited for striking French lock Pascal Pape during Sunday’s Pool D-clinching win in Cardiff.
Sean O’Brien set to discover fate after Pape spat

O’Brien produced one of his best performances in an Ireland jersey as he helped his side to a 24-9 victory at the Millennium Stadium but what appeared to be an opening minute tussle with Pape could well see him suspended from this Sunday’s quarter-final clash with Argentina.

The incident was missed by both match referee Nigel Owens and Television Match Official Graham Hughes but was caught by television cameras and last night came the inevitable news that flanker O’Brien had been cited for an alleged act of foul play contrary to Law 10.4(a), which deals with striking.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

You have reached your article limit.

Unlimited access. Half the price.

Annual €120 €60

Best value

Monthly €10€5 / month

More in this section

Sport

Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers. and reporters

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited