Lam all smiles as Connacht win again

Connacht 38 Treviso 6

Lam all smiles as Connacht win again

Following on the heels of their win over Zebre, Connacht have now climbed another place on the RaboDirect Pro 12 table, leapfrogging Cardiff into ninth.

“We targeted 16 points in these four games and were two short (before Treviso), so we are really pleased to have taken 10 from the last two,” Connacht coach Pat Lam smiled.

Lam believes Saturday’s win was another step-up for his “maturing” squad.

Attacking with confidence in the opening half, Connacht grabbed three tries, the first in the fifth minute when Eoin Griffin’s looping pass to fullback Robbie Henshaw provided the space on the wing for Fionn Carr to cross. Outhalf Dan Parks produced a man of the match show — his distribution and both tactical and goal kicking flawless — nailing every kick to contribute 11 points.

He was helped in no small measure by a pack on the front foot, led by John Muldoon, who scored a try in each half, and crisp service from scrum-half Kieron Marmion, who also touched down a 32nd minute try.

Treviso struggled to gain any momentum. Their only points came from two first-half Matt Berquist’s penalties before Connacht finished the job with a second Muldoon effort in the 62nd minute from a line-out and drive.

Number 8 Eoin McKeon, who put in a good shift all day, dived over five minutes from time for the final try, which replacement outhalf Miah Nikora converted.

CONNACHT: R Henshaw, T O’Halloran, E Griffin, D McSharry, F Carr, D Parks, K Marmion, D Buckley, J Harris-Wright, R Ah You, A Muldowney, M Kearney, J Muldoon (cpt), E Masterson, E McKeon.

Replacements: A Browne for Masterson (51m), N White for Ah You (56m), D Poolman for Carr and M Swift for Kearney (64m), M Nikora for Parks, D Heffernan for Harris-Wright and F Bealham for Buckley (all 67m), F Murphy for Marmion (70m).

BENETTON TREVISO: A Esposito, L Nitoglia, A Sgarbi, J Van Niekerk, A Pratichetti, M Berquist, T Botes, M Muccignat, G Maistri, L Cittadini, A Pavanello (cpt), C Van Zyl, M Vosawai, P Derbyshire, M Fillippuchi.

Replacements: R Barbieri for Manoa and V Bernabo for Derbyshire (48m), F Sbaraglini for Maistri and R Acosta for Muccignat (56m), M Fuser for Van Zyl (60m), I Fernandez-Rouyet for Cittadini (62m), F Semenzato for Berquist (69m).

Referee: L Hodges (Wales).

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.


Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox