Four Irish players in contention for European Player of the Year award

Four Irish players have been included on the longlist for the ERC European Player of the Year award for 2014.

Four Irish players in contention for European Player of the Year award

Leinster duo Cian Healy and Sean Cronin, along with the Munster pair of Peter O’Mahony and Paul O’Connell, are among the 15 in the hunt for the award following the completion of the pool stages.

Sean O’Brien and Rob Kearney were named the first two winners while Jonny Wilkinson, who is again nominated, won the award following his role in Toulon’s Heineken Cup-winning campaign last year.

Ulster’s Ruan Pienaar has also been included, for the third year in-a-row. A five-man shortlist will be decided upon after the European semi-finals with the winner named after the Heineken Cup final in Cardiff in May.

Meanwhile, the Six Nations Council had what it described as “a constructive meeting” yesterday and reaffirmed its aim to find a “Six Nations solution for European Rugby” to the impasse over the governance and formation of continental club competitions next season.

ERC European Player of the Year 2014 longlist: Steffon Armitage (Toulon), Miles Benjamin (Leicester), Sean Cronin (Leinster), Jean-Marc Doussain (Toulouse), Matt Giteau (Toulon), Alex Goode (Saracens), Cian Healy (Leinster), Fritz Lee (ASM Clermont Auvergne), George North (Northampton), Paul O’Connell (Munster), Peter O’Mahony (Munster), Louis Picamoles (Toulouse), Ruan Pienaar (Ulster), Sitiveni Sivivatu (ASM Clermont Auvergne), Jonny Wilkinson (Toulon).

More in this section

Price info

Subscribe to unlock unlimited digital access.
Cancel anytime.

Terms and conditions apply


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox