Killarney and Charleville lift silverware

ST SENAN’S caused the biggest shock in the opening round of games in the Munster Junior League as Killarney and Charleville lifted silverware.

St Senan’s had a surprising 17-11 home win over Crosshaven. Kieran Doran kicked a penalty to give Crosshaven a 3-0 interval read. A Darren Keane try and a second Doran penalty had the Seasiders ahead 11-10 when Daragh McCoy intercepted an almost certain try for Crosshaven and raced to the other end to score and Declan Collins converted to give the Clare side the points. Fernando Gallant also scored a try for Senan’s and Collins converted and also added a penalty.

Old Christians snatched a dramatic win with a last minute try from Darragh Daly which Conor Quaid converted to give the Rathcooney side a 22-20 away victory over Kilfeacle. The Tipperary side led 10-6 at half time with a try from Pierce Breen and a conversion and penalty by Mark Burke. Jack O’Sullivan and Charlie Walsh scored further tries for the home side but indiscipline cost them dearly as Conor Mangan kicked five penalties for the visitors.

Richmond began their campaign with a 24-17 home victory over newly promoted Kanturk. The Limerick side led 17-14 at half time with two tries from Emmet Harty and one by Pat Humphreys and a Darragh Clancy conversion. Darragh Meade and Philippe Trippier scored tries for Kanturk and Meade converted both. Meade levelled early in the second half and two minutes from time Garret Hanlon got in for a fourth try for Richmond and Clancy converted.

Galbally playing their first game in the top flight made a winning start with a 20-8 home win over Cobh Pirates. Tries from Niall McNamara and James Taylor both converted by Darren Guerin had the Limerick side 14-3 ahead at half time. Eamon Ronan kicked a penalty for the visitors. Alan Langford scored a second half try for Cobh, but two penalties by Sean Burke secured the victory for the county Limerick side.

Skibbereen got off to a winning start with a 28-15 home win over Tralee. A Sean O’Neill try and a Ger Hurley conversion and penalty had Skibb 10-3 ahead at half time. Garrett Walsh kicked a penalty for the visitors. Jack O’Driscoll and Hurley added further tries for the winners and Hurley kicked a conversion and two penalties. Dan O’Connor and Cian Dillane replied with tries for the Kerry side and Brian Mullins added a conversion.

Clonmel defeated Clanwilliam 16-10. Three penalties from Ben Martin to one by Derek Shields gave Clonmel a 9-3 interval lead. Robbie Carroll extended Clonmel’s advantage with a try which Martin converted. Sean Whelan replied with a late consolation try for the home side and Shields converted.

Waterpark were the big winners of the day defeating Thurles 62-0. Kevin Phelan and Paddy Kiersey scored two tries each for the winners and Colin Walsh, Ben Cunningham, Jamie Walsh, Alistair McCormack and Murray Kinsella scored tries for the home side and John Flynn kicked seven conversions and a penalty.

Charleville won the Martin O’Sullivan Cup Final with a 16-13 victory over Fermoy at Mallow. Ger Sheehan scored a try for the winners and Frankie Holly kicked two penalties, drop goal and a conversion. Fermoy replied with a penalty try, a conversion and penalty from Joe Lee and a penalty by Cathal O’Keeffe.

Killarney defeated Corca Dhuibhne 23-3 under the lights at Castleisland to win the McElligott Cup Final. Padraig Hallissey scored two tries for the winners and Paudie Sheahan converted both and also added three penalties.

More in this section

courtsrugbyplace: mallowplace: castleislandperson: killarneyperson: st senanperson: kieran doranperson: darren keaneperson: doranperson: daragh mccoyperson: declan collinsperson: fernando gallantperson: collinsperson: darragh dalyperson: conor quaidperson: pierce breenperson: mark burkeperson: jack o’sullivanperson: charlie walshperson: conor manganperson: emmet hartyperson: pat humphreysperson: darragh clancyperson: darragh meadeperson: philippe trippierperson: meadeperson: garret hanlonperson: clancyperson: galballyperson: niall mcnamaraperson: james taylorperson: darren guerinperson: eamon ronanperson: alan langfordperson: sean burkeperson: skibbereenperson: seán o’neillperson: ger hurleyperson: skibbperson: garrett walshperson: jack o’driscollperson: hurleyperson: dan o’connorperson: cian dillaneperson: brian mullinsperson: clonmelperson: ben martinperson: derek shieldsperson: robbie carrollperson: martinperson: seán whelanperson: shieldsperson: kevin phelanperson: paddy kierseyperson: colin walshperson: ben cunninghamperson: jamie walshperson: alistair mccormackperson: murray kinsellaperson: john flynnperson: fermoyperson: ger sheehanperson: frankie hollyperson: joe leeperson: cathal o’keeffeperson: padraig hallisseyperson: paudie sheahanevent: munster junior leagueevent: martin o’sullivan cup finalevent: cup finalorganisation: charlevilleorganisation: crosshavenorganisation: seasidersorganisation: clareorganisation: christiansorganisation: kilfeacleorganisation: richmondorganisation: kanturkorganisation: limerickorganisation: cobh piratesorganisation: cobhorganisation: kerryorganisation: clanwilliamorganisation: waterparkorganisation: thurlesorganisation: corca dhuibhne

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox