O'Donovan leading at Portumna

Lucan's Richard O'Donovan recorded a fine opening round of 70 to lead after day one of the Irish Boys Amateur Close Championship at Portumna Golf Club.

Lucan's Richard O'Donovan recorded a fine opening round of 70 to lead after day one of the Irish Boys Amateur Close Championship at Portumna Golf Club.

O'Donovan, who was a member of the Irish Boys team that recently captured the Boys Home Internationals title at Royal County Down, started with a birdie on the 10th (his first hole) and followed a drop shot on the par four 11th with back-to-back birdies on the 12th and 13th.

Twelve straight pars preceded a birdie-bogey finish to leave O’Donovan two clear of a group of seven players on level par.

The field of 120 players will complete the second round on Thursday with the top 51 players qualifying to play the final 36 holes on Friday.

After 18 Holes:

70: R O'Donovan (Lucan)

72: B Lupo (Sutton), M McKnight (Lisburn), D Hallissey (Muskerry), I O'Rourke (Cork), S Morrison (City of Derry), C Boggan (Co Meath), J Hopkins (Skerries)

73: S O'Hara (Co Sligo), A Kiernan (Forrest Little), S Byran (Delgany)

74: S Carter (Stackstown), G Boyd (Donaghadee), I Brennan (Greenore), L O'Brien (New Ross)

75: R Jacob (Enniscrone), D Congdon (Clontarf), E Lisibach (Castlebar), R Kennelly (Carton House), P Brodigan (Seapoint), I Keane (Malahide), K Egan (Curragh), M Connolly (Massereene), E Dolan (Woodbrook)

76: P Butler (Newlands), S Broe (Donabate), C Glynn (Lucan), A Byrne (Hollystown), P Dunne (Greystones), D Higgins (Co Meath), D Loftus (Swinford), C Drumm (Rosslare), C Dowling (Mallow), G McGee (Malone), M Durcan (Co Sligo), R Kenny (Woodlands), G Barry (Muskerry), D Byrne (Athenry)

77: G Dunne (Greystones), D Murphy (Portarlington), C O'Sullivan (Fota Island), S Moloney (East Clare), A Stewart (Bangor), P Cullen (Royal Tara), N Murray (Dunmurry), A Kelly (Charleville), L Harnett (Milltown), K Dunne (New Ross), S Moore (Shandon Park), D O'Hara (Belvoir Park), J Hickey (Cork), C Conlon (Cill Dara)

78: N Woods (Dromoland), S Sweeney (Greystones), V Hayes (East Clare), G Collins (Rosslare), J Gourley (Knock), H McHugh (Skerries), D McCormick (Letterkenny), S Cleary (Portumna), E Smith (Ardee), E Campbell (Donegal), S O'Connor (Hermitage), S Brady (Co Sligo)

79: R McGuinness (East Clare), C Shiels (Malahide), P O'Neill (Shannon), D O'Sullivan (Strandhill), D McElroy (Ballymena), R Sykes (Dun Laoghaire), J Webster (Castle), J Corry (Ballybofey & Stranorlar), J Pierse (Grange), J Taylor (Shandon Park), P Moore (Ballymena), R O'Sullivan (Fota Island), T O'Rourke (Nenagh), B Casey (Headfort)

80: D Walsh (Wexford), J Harrington (Kinsale), S Devey (Skerries), A Darragh (Belvoir Park), C Geraghty (Navan), H Walsh (Oughterard), A Kilmartin (Loughrea), R Whitson (Mourne)

81: A Welsh (Knock), E Maguire (Seapoint), A Ffrench (Carlow), S Johnstone (Linden Hall), M Moloney (Harbour Point)

82: O Kelleher (Mahon), J Connolly (Cliftonville)

83: N Sullivan (Malahide), G Moynihan (Donabate), S Boles (Bangor), S Cannon (Athenry), R O'Grady (Tullamore), S McGirr (South County), A Doran (Ardee), S Barry (L'town & B'town)

84: S Gaffney (Sutton), O Culleton (Bundoran), L Hutchinson (St. Annes), B Anderson (Co Sligo)

85: M Kerrigan (Old Conna), P Doherty (North West), J Dillon (Headfort), C Fitzgerald (Athlone)

86: S Prenderville (Hermitage), J O'Brien (Ballinasloe)

87: M Crooks (Bushfoot)

89: S Brummell (Birr), R Sweeney (Connemara), N McGlynn (Castle), S Davin (Hermitage)

DQ: J Foran (Tullamore)

More in this section

CourtsGolfHeathrowPlace: Portumna Golf ClubPlace: Royal County DownPlace: City of DerryPlace: Co MeathPlace: StackstownPlace: Shandon ParkPlace: Belvoir ParkPlace: east ClarePlace: NavanPlace: TullamorePlace: south countyPlace: ArdeePlace: L'townPlace: St. AnnesPlace: Co SligoPlace: Old ConnaPlace: North WestPlace: AthlonePlace: BallinasloePerson: O'DonovanPerson: Richard O'DonovanPerson: O’DonovanPerson: R O'DonovanPerson: LucanPerson: M McKnightPerson: D HallisseyPerson: MuskerryPerson: I O'RourkePerson: S MorrisonPerson: C BogganPerson: J HopkinsPerson: S O'HaraPerson: A KiernanPerson: Forrest LittlePerson: S ByranPerson: DelganyPerson: S CarterPerson: G BoydPerson: DonaghadeePerson: I BrennanPerson: GreenorePerson: L O'BrienPerson: R JacobPerson: D CongdonPerson: ClontarfPerson: E LisibachPerson: CastlebarPerson: R KennellyPerson: HousePerson: P BrodiganPerson: SeapointPerson: I KeanePerson: MalahidePerson: K EganPerson: M ConnollyPerson: MassereenePerson: E DolanPerson: P ButlerPerson: S BroePerson: DonabatePerson: C GlynnPerson: A ByrnePerson: P DunnePerson: D HigginsPerson: D LoftusPerson: C DrummPerson: C DowlingPerson: MallowPerson: G McGeePerson: MalonePerson: M DurcanPerson: R KennyPerson: G BarryPerson: D ByrnePerson: G DunnePerson: D MurphyPerson: C O'SullivanPerson: IslandPerson: S MoloneyPerson: A StewartPerson: P CullenPerson: N MurrayPerson: A KellyPerson: L HarnettPerson: K DunnePerson: S MoorePerson: D O'HaraPerson: J HickeyPerson: C ConlonPerson: DaraPerson: N WoodsPerson: DromolandPerson: S SweeneyPerson: V HayesPerson: G CollinsPerson: RosslarePerson: J GourleyPerson: KnockPerson: H McHughPerson: SkerriesPerson: D McCormickPerson: LetterkennyPerson: S ClearyPerson: PortumnaPerson: E SmithPerson: ArdeePerson: E CampbellPerson: DonegalPerson: S O'ConnorPerson: HermitagePerson: S BradyPerson: Co SligoPerson: R McGuinnessPerson: C ShielsPerson: P O'NeillPerson: ShannonPerson: D O'SullivanPerson: StrandhillPerson: D McElroyPerson: R SykesPerson: Dun LaoghairePerson: J WebsterPerson: CastlePerson: J CorryPerson: BallybofeyPerson: StranorlarPerson: J PiersePerson: GrangePerson: J TaylorPerson: Shandon ParkPerson: P MoorePerson: BallymenaPerson: R O'SullivanPerson: T O'RourkePerson: NenaghPerson: B CaseyPerson: D WalshPerson: J HarringtonPerson: S DeveyPerson: A DarraghPerson: C GeraghtyPerson: H WalshPerson: OughterardPerson: A KilmartinPerson: R WhitsonPerson: A WelshPerson: E MaguirePerson: A FfrenchPerson: S JohnstonePerson: Linden HallPerson: M MoloneyPerson: O KelleherPerson: MahonPerson: J ConnollyPerson: N SullivanPerson: G MoynihanPerson: S BolesPerson: S CannonPerson: R O'GradyPerson: S McGirrPerson: A DoranPerson: S BarryPerson: S GaffneyPerson: O CulletonPerson: L HutchinsonPerson: B AndersonPerson: M KerriganPerson: P DohertyPerson: J DillonPerson: HeadfortPerson: C FitzgeraldPerson: S PrendervillePerson: J O'BrienPerson: M CrooksPerson: BushfootPerson: S BrummellPerson: BirrPerson: R SweeneyPerson: ConnemaraPerson: N McGlynnPerson: S DavinPerson: J ForanEvent: Irish Boys Amateur Close ChampionshipEvent: Boys Home InternationalsOrganisation: Irish BoysOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: New RossOrganisation: GreystonesOrganisation: Co MeathOrganisation: SwinfordOrganisation: RosslareOrganisation: CoOrganisation: AthenryOrganisation: PortarlingtonOrganisation: FotaOrganisation: East ClareOrganisation: BangorOrganisation: Royal TaraOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: Harbour
Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Ireland's Top 10 Hidden Gems

Ten of the best golf courses in Ireland that too few people know about.

Read Here

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd