O’Keeffe puts down a marker in Monkstown

Douglas’ Peter O’Keeffe showed again he is a talent worth monitoring after sharing top spot in the Munster PGA’s inaugural Morgan O’Donovan Perpetual Trophy at Monkstown GC.

Conditions were as rough as anything experienced in three seasons of the provincial Winter Series, reducing the holes to 13, with O’Keeffe sharing the spoils with European Tour player Damien McGrane.

Both players signed for a very impressive -3 to lead the way by a couple of shots. O’Keeffe would have been in the running for the Winter Series Order of Merit title, had he not missed a couple of the early events. Nevertheless, he appears to be a force to be reckoned with both on the Irish Region and further afield this year. McGrane, a winner on the European Tour, showed his class with a fine performance in the conditions.

The introduction of this event was due in large part to Monkstown assistant professional Simon Keelan , who worked for Morgan at the club.

Irish PGA Secretary Michael McCumiskey, PGA professionals including European Tour player Damien McGrane, Morgan’s brother David O’Donovan, Monkstown GC dignitaries and friends were present to mark the occasion.

The event will now become an annual fixture to celebrate the life of a great man who gave so much to the game in such a short time. The perpetual trophy itself will be kept on display in Monkstown GC.

Another matters decided on the day was the Order of Merit. Killarney’s Daniel Sugrue had established an almost unassailable lead going into the final event and had he just been there to complete the course, it would probably have been enough to get him over the line. His absence however, left the door open for both David Ryan and Cian McNamara to shoot it out between them for top spot.

Both players returned impressive scores of –1 and finished in a tie for third.

With McNamara leading Ryan prior to the event, it meant he would take the Order of Merit, leaving Ryan in second and Sugrue in third. There was some consolation for David Ryan as he won the birdie count for the second time.

Morgan O’Donovan Perpetual Trophy at Monstown GC.

-3 P O’Keeffe, D McGrane

-1 D Ryan, C McNamara, E D Ruddy, G Burke

+1 G Broderick

+2 B O’Donovan, J Dignam, M Heinemann

+3 P O’Boyle, F Twomey

+4 D Hayes, J Dooley

+5 G Dunlea

+6 P Hickey, W O’Callaghan, P Ring

+7 S Cotter

+8 W Doyle

+10 S Byrne

Final Order of Merit

16,000 Cian McNamara — Winner

15,700 David Ryan

14,300 Daniel Sugru e

11,150 Graeme Dunlea

11,000 Peter O’Keeffe

Final Birdie Leaders

18 David Ryan — Winner

17 Daniel Sugrue

16 Cian McNamara

15 Jamie O’Sullivan

14 Graeme Dunlea

More in this section

Ireland's Top 10 Hidden Gems

Ten of the best golf courses in Ireland that too few people know about.

Read Here

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox