Murphy handed reins of Munster GUI Branch

BILL MURPHY of Fermoy is the new chairman of the Munster GUI Branch. He was elected in a secret ballot at the annual delegate's meeting in the Hibernian Hotel, Mallow, last night in a two man contest with Alan McIlraith of Tramore.

Mr Murphy was proposed for the position by Fermoy captain Joe Slattery who said he was a long serving member of the branch, a former Fermoy captain, the current treasurer of the branch, an expert on the rules of golf and had refereed all competitions from junior to senior level. The nomination was seconded by Brendan O'Callaghan, vice captain.

John Cassidy, the Tramore vice-captain proposed Mr McIlraith and said he had given 20 years service to the branch; he was the club captain in 1982 and president in 2002 and had given a huge commitment to junior golf.

McIlraith was seconded by Michael Burns, the former international who said the Tramore representative was the co-author of the Charter on Junior Golf and had captained Munster to a three in a row in the Inter Provincial Championship.

The meeting was attended by GUI president Albert Lee who outlined to delegates the progress on the move from the Eglington Road Dublin headquarters to Carton House in Maynooth.

He said that the academy ground works were now nearing completion on the 22 acre site and that the erection of offices would commence towards the end of next year. He thanked the delegates for the contribution from all golfers in the province towards the finance of the new set up.

Mr Lee said it was a great year for golf in general and especially in the professional scene. He paid tribute to the Irish members on the winning Ryder Cup team and also expressed good wishes to Padraig Harrington and Paul McGinley in the World Cup competition in Spain.

"They have started very well," he said. "They are joint leaders after today's first round."

The Harbour Point club was honoured for its staging of the National Golf Special Olympics during the year. There were awards also for the Ballybunion club for its hosting of the Palmer Cup International Inter University Championship and Shannon for hosting the Bulmers All-Ireland Cup and Shield Finals in September.

Outgoing chairman Bernard Hynes of Carrick-on-Suir was nominated as President-elect of the Golfing Union of Ireland while Sean MacMahon (Adare Manor) and Michael Cashman (Cobh) were returned unopposed as honorary secretary and honorary match and handicap secretary respectively. John Mologhney of Templemore was ratified as honorary treasurer following the departure of Bill Murphy.

John D. Smyth of Lahinch succeeded George F. Crosbie as honorary delegate to the Central Council.

The incoming council has three new members - Eric Brick (Dooks), John Fennessy (Clonmel) and Dan O'Sullivan (Ballybunion). They join Tommy Donnelly (Youghal), Donal Hurley (Douglas), Michael Lawlor (Tralee), Peter MacMahon (Lahinch), Graham McKay (Macroom), Liam Martin (Castletroy), Michael Minihan (Bandon/Dunmore), Christy Moylan (Shannon), Michael P. Murphy (Newcastle West), Patrick Murphy (West Waterford), Paddy O'Connor (Muskerry), Pat O'Dwyer (Kenmare), Sean O'Leary (Mahon) and Phil O'Sullivan (Monkstown).

More in this section

CourtsGolfPlace: FermoyPlace: Hibernian HotelPlace: Eglington Road DublinPlace: Carton HousePlace: MaynoothPlace: SpainPlace: CarrickPlace: TemplemorePlace: MonkstownPerson: MurphyPerson: Alan McIlraithPerson: Joe SlatteryPerson: Brendan O'CallaghanPerson: John CassidyPerson: McIlraithPerson: Michael BurnsPerson: Albert LeePerson: LeePerson: Padraig HarringtonPerson: Paul McGinleyPerson: Bernard HynesPerson: Sean MacMahonPerson: ManorPerson: Michael CashmanPerson: John MologhneyPerson: Bill MurphyPerson: John D. SmythPerson: George F. CrosbiePerson: Eric BrickPerson: DooksPerson: John FennessyPerson: ClonmelPerson: Dan O'SullivanPerson: Tommy DonnellyPerson: YoughalPerson: Donal HurleyPerson: DouglasPerson: Michael LawlorPerson: TraleePerson: Peter MacMahonPerson: LahinchPerson: Graham McKayPerson: MacroomPerson: Liam MartinPerson: CastletroyPerson: Michael MinihanPerson: BandonPerson: DunmorePerson: Christy MoylanPerson: ShannonPerson: Michael P. MurphyPerson: Patrick MurphyPerson: Paddy O'ConnorPerson: MuskerryPerson: Pat O'DwyerPerson: KenmarePerson: Sean O'LearyPerson: MahonPerson: Phil O'SullivanEvent: Inter Provincial ChampionshipEvent: National Golf Special OlympicsEvent: Palmer Cup International Inter University ChampionshipEvent: Bulmers All-Ireland Cup and Shield FinalsOrganisation: Munster GUI BranchOrganisation: FermoyOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: GUIOrganisation: Ryder CupOrganisation: Harbour Point clubOrganisation: BallybunionOrganisation: Golfing Union of IrelandOrganisation: CobhOrganisation: CentralOrganisation: Newcastle WestOrganisation: West Waterford

Ireland's Top 10 Hidden Gems

Ten of the best golf courses in Ireland that too few people know about.

Read Here

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Select your favourite newsletters and get the best of Irish Examiner delivered to your inbox