Three Key Plays: Where does Dalton's free-taking territory end and Horgan's begin?

Darragh Fitzgibbon was overruled by Hawk-Eye, the crossbar denied Séamus Harnedy, Alan Connolly threw a wayward pass to Hayes when he should have shot himself for green, and then another effort out the field hit the post. 2-2 not taken. The door not so much shut, as the key turned and locked.
Three Key Plays: Where does Dalton's free-taking territory end and Horgan's begin?

THREE KEY PLAYS: Where does Declan Dalton's free taking territory finish and Patrick Horgan's start? Pic: ©INPHO/Bryan Keane

1: In the opening minute of the second-half, Cork midfielder Tim O’Mahony was fouled. The free was in Declan Dalton’s territory. He’d nailed one from much further out in the opening half. Patrick Horgan came out instead. Who makes such calls? Is there an imaginary line on the field which the respective freetakers do not encroach on the other’s dead-ball responsibilities?

Irrespective, the angle could hardly have been more central. But instead of shoving Cork seven in front, Horgan directed the sliotar wide, the gap remained at six, and no further doubt was sown in the Premier psyche. When Cork did eventually open their second half account 10 minutes later, they trailed by one.

Already a subscriber? Sign in

You have reached your article limit.

Unlimited access. Half the price.

Annual €120 €60

Best value

Monthly €10€5 / month

More in this section

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited