Cork and Kilkenny dominate Camogie All-Star nominations

All-Ireland champions Kilkenny and finalists Cork dominate the Camogie All-Stars 2016 shortlist.

Cork and Kilkenny dominate Camogie All-Star nominations

All-Ireland champions Kilkenny and finalists Cork dominate the Camogie All-Stars 2016 shortlist.

The final team will be announced at the 13th annual Camogie All-Stars Awards banquet at Citywest Hotel on Saturday, November 5.

Kilkenny, who won their first All-Ireland title since 1994, have 15 nominations.

Goalkeeper Emma Kavanagh, defenders Anne Dalton, Collette Dormer, Meighan Farrell, Jacqui Frisby, Edwina Keane, Claire Phelan and Davina Tobin are amongst the nominees for the Cats. Anna Farrell and Miriam Walsh have both been nominated in midfield, whilst Shelly Farrell, Denise Gaule, Julie Ann Malone, Katie Power and captain Michelle Quilty are amongst the forwards.

Cork had 10 players nominated: Goalkeeper and 2016 Poc Fada winner Aoife Murray, defenders Rena Buckley, Pamela Mackey, Gemma O’Connor and Laura Treacy are amongst the nominees.

O’Connor is seeking an incredible 10th All-Stars Award.

The Rebels’ captain Ashling Thompson and Orla Cotter have both been nominated at midfield whilst Briege Corkery, Hannah Looney and Katrina Mackey and are amongst the forwards.

Tipperary got five nominations; defender Aoife McGrath, midfielder Teresa Ryan and forwards Orla O’Dwyer, Mary Ryan and Nicole Walsh.

National League finalists Galway have four players nominated; defenders Sarah Dervan and Rebecca Hennelly and forwards Aoife Donohue and Ailish O’Reilly.

Both Offaly and Wexford have also received four nominations. For Offaly defenders Jean Brady and Siobhán Flannery and forwards Tina Hannon and Michaela Morkan have been nominated.

Wexford’s nominees include goalkeeper Mags D’Arcy, defender Sarah O’Connor in her debut season, midfielder Shelley Kehoe and forward Kate Kelly who finished the season as the top scorer in this year’s Championship with a tally of 5-49.

Clare, Limerick and Waterford received one nomination each with the Banner’s Niamh O’Dea named amongst the forward line, Niamh Mulcahy named amongst the forwards for the Treaty County and Patricia Jackman of Waterford names amongst the defenders.

Mark Brennan (Carlow), Paudie Murray (Cork) and Ann Downey (Kilkenny) are amongst the nominees for Manager of the Year.

Camogie All-Stars 2016 sponsored by Liberty Insurance, nominees list:

Goalkeepers: Aoife Murray (Cork), Emma Kavanagh (Kilkenny), Mags D’Arcy (Wexford)

Defenders: Full-Back Line: Rena Buckley (Cork), Pamela Mackey (Cork), Laura Treacy (Cork), Sarah Dervan (Galway), Collette Dormer (Kilkenny), Jacqui Frisby (Kilkenny), Davina Tobin (Kilkenny), Jean Brady (Offaly), Aoife McGrath (Tipperary)

Half-Back Line: Gemma O’Connor (Cork), Rebecca Hennelly (Galway), Anne Dalton (Kilkenny), Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny), Edwina Keane (Kilkenny), Claire Phelan (Kilkenny), Siobhán Flannery (Offaly), Patricia Jackman (Waterford), Sarah O’Connor (Wexford)

Midfield: Orla Cotter (Cork), Ashling Thompson (Cork), Anna Farrell (Kilkenny), Miriam Walsh (Kilkenny), Teresa Ryan (Tipperary), Shelley Kehoe (Wexford)


Half-Forward Line: Hannah Looney (Cork), Niamh O’Dea (Clare), Aoife Donohue (Galway), Denise Gaule (Kilkenny), Julie Ann Malone (Kilkenny), Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick), Michaela Morkan (Offaly), Mary Ryan (Tipperary), Nicole Walsh (Tipperary)

Full-Forward Line: Briege Corkery (Cork), Katrina Mackey (Cork), Ailish O’Reilly (Galway), Shelly Farrell (Kilkenny), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Michelle Quilty (Kilkenny), Tina Hannon (Offaly), Orla O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Kate Kelly (Wexford)

Manager of the Year: Mark Brennan (Carlow), Paudie Murray (Cork), Ann Downey (Kilkenny)

More in this section

courtsgaaheathrowplace: citywest hotelplace: carlowplace: tipperaryperson: emma kavanaghperson: anne daltonperson: collette dormerperson: meighan farrellperson: jacqui frisbyperson: edwina keaneperson: claire phelanperson: davina tobinperson: anna farrellperson: miriam walshperson: shelly farrellperson: denise gauleperson: julie ann maloneperson: katie powerperson: michelle quiltyperson: murrayperson: rena buckleyperson: pamela mackeyperson: gemma o’connorperson: laura treacyperson: o’connorperson: ashling thompsonperson: orla cotterperson: corkeryperson: hannah looneyperson: katrina mackeyperson: aoife mcgrathperson: teresa ryanperson: orla o’dwyerperson: mary ryanperson: nicole walshperson: sarah dervanperson: rebecca hennellyperson: aoife donohueperson: ailish o’reillyperson: jean bradyperson: siobhán flanneryperson: tina hannonperson: michaela morkanperson: mags d’arcyperson: sarah o’connorperson: shelley kehoeperson: kate kellyperson: niamh o’deaperson: niamh mulcahyperson: patricia jackmanperson: mark brennanperson: paudie murrayperson: ann downeyperson: aoife murrayperson: briege corkeryevent: camogie all-starevent: annual camogie all-stars awardsevent: camogie all-starsorganisation: corkorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: rebels’organisation: tipperaryorganisation: galwayorganisation: offalyorganisation: wexfordorganisation: clareorganisation: limerickorganisation: waterfordorganisation: treaty countyorganisation: liberty insuranceorganisation: midfieldorganisation: carlow
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up