Kildare endure heavy rain to capture camogie crown

Kildare 2-11 Laois 1-5

Kildare endure heavy rain to capture camogie crown

Kildare 2-11 Laois 1-5

Kildare captured their fourth Liberty Insurance Premier Junior All-Ireland Camogie title thanks to a nine-point win over Laois in wet conditions at Croke Park this afternoon.

The Lilywhites led throughout, with a brace of goals from Susie O'Carroll inside 30 seconds early in the second half, paving the way for victory.

Reigning Division 3 League champions Laois were contesting their first ever decider at this grade, while for Kildare it was a 23 year wait since their last Premier Junior final appearance.

Kildare were formidable in attack throughout, with O'Carroll leading the charge, but the Lilywhites also produced a strong display defensively, giving Laois little change, holding their opponents to just two first-half points.

Wind assisted, Kildare began this game in tremendous form and moved 0-5 to 0-0 clear at the end of the opening quarter as they placed the Laois defence under sustained pressure.

Player of the Match Siobhán Hurley and Melissa Lyons fired a point each inside the opening minute as Kildare got off to a superb start.

Scores from O'Carroll, Roisin O'Connell and Hurley opened up a five-point advantage after 14 and a half minutes, with Kildare relatively clinical in front of the posts.

The Lilywhites registered just two wides during this spell, with the Kildare half-back line also cleaning up at the opposite end.

Laois's scoring opportunities were severely curtailed at this stage, but this game began to open up slightly in their favour.

Elaine Mahony was handed a first real chance at a score in the 22nd minute and although her effort finished wide of the target, Laois grew in confidence.

Elaine's sister Louise opened the Laois account with a 24th minute pointed free, while Niamh Dollard followed up with an excellent point to cut the deficit to three points, with four minutes to go before the break.

Kildare continued to cause havoc in the O'Moore's defence before the break, and while they had three chances for scores before the break, they yielded just one, with Susie O'Carroll on target as the Lilywhites claimed a 0-6 to 0-2 interval lead.

Weather conditions worsened after the break, with heavy rain prevailing as defences loosened on the restart.

Laois introduced Sarah Cuddy at the interval, with Síle Burke moved to the half-forward line and this opened up opportunities inside for scores.

The O'Moore's began the second half in perfect fashion as a goal from teenager Grace O'Neill cut the deficit to the minimum inside two minutes of the restart.

With heavy rain prevailing disaster struck for Laois, with two goals inside a 30-second spell from O'Carroll handing Kildare a 2-6 to 1-2 advantage.

Hurley's third point extended the Kildare lead to eight points by the 34th minute, but Laois hit three of the next five points including a Niamh Dollard score to ensure a 2-9 to 1-5 score-line.

However, Dollard's 46th minute point was Laois's last of this final as Kildare closed out the game with points from Hurley and substitute Cliodhna MacSweeney to ensure a nine-point win.

After the game, Camogie Association president Aileen Lawlor presented the Cup to Kildare captain Clodagh Flanagan.

KILDARE: S O'Keeffe; J O'Donoghue, A Trant, N Concannon; F Trant, C Nolan, A Lyons; C Forde, O Bambury; C Flanagan, S Hurley (0-5, 2f), M Lyons (0-2); L Keatley, S O'Carroll (2-2), R O'Connell (0-1). Subs: H Mulligan for Concannon (46); C MacSweeney (0-1) for Lyons (53); N Breen for F Trant (58); C Farrell for Keatley (61).

LAOIS: L Dunne; M Burke, K Cuddy, J Dollard; A Dunphy, SA Fitzgerald, E Delaney; C Walsh, E Mahony; J Dunne, D Quigley, L Mahony (0-3, 2f, 1 '45); S Burke, N Dollard (0-2), O Parkinson. Subs: G O'Neill (1-0) for Dunne (29); S Cuddy for Walsh (HT): C Downey for Burke (42); S Lanham for Parkinson (52); R Bermingham for Dollard (59).

REFEREE: Donal Ryan (Dublin).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up