Galway romp to Minor hurling title

Galway 1-21 Dublin 1-12

Galway 1-21 Dublin 1-12

Rampant Galway claimed a ninth All-Ireland MHC title with a dominant display at Croke Park, where they outclassed and outplayed Dublin.

Midfielder Padraic Brehony was the driving force, while skipper Shane Maloney laid on a superb display of finishing with a 1-9 tally.

Dublin’s ace attackers were never allowed to get into the game by a Galway defence in which Padraic Mannion, Paul Killeen and Sean Sweeney excelled.

The Connacht lads led by six points at half-time, and never looked like losing a game which they controlled from start to finish.

Midfielder Colm Cronin shot Dublin’s opening two points, but Galway responded each time with Shane Maloney and wing back Adrian Tuohy on target

Maloney drilled over his third point as the Tribesmen moved into a 0-5 to 0-3 lead by the 19th minute.

The Dubs managed just one point in the second quarter, a Paul Winters free, with their opponents hitting the final five points of the half, Maloney bringing his tally to five with a couple of frees.

Dean Higgins and Jason Flynn were also on target as they took a 0-10 to 0-4 lead into the interval, but the Dubs closed the gap through Aodhan Clabby and Matthew McCaffrey.

However, Maloney continued to torment their defence, hitting the target from play and frees.

A superb Ciaran Kilkenny point was instantly cancelled out by the excellent Brehony, and the Dubs were unable to find a way past Galway’s rock solid defence, in which Mannion and Sweeney shone brightly.

Paul Winters landed a couple of Dublin scores from placed balls, but Galway answered every minor setback in emphatic fashion, with Brehony bringing his tally to four, and sub Dara Dolan scoring with his first touch.

And Maloney capped a sparkling personal performance with a brilliant 60th minute goal.

Dublin’s consolation goal came direct from a Ciaran Kilkenny free in stoppage time, but this was Galway’s day, and another proud occasion for manager Mattie Murphy who has now guided his county to six All-Irelands at this level.

Dublin: C Ryan, E Lowndes, C O’Callaghan, S McClelland; C Crummey, J Desmond, M McCaffrey (0-1), C Cronin (0-2), G Whelan, E Ó Conghaile, C McHugh, C Kilkenny (1-3, 1-1f), C Costello (0-1), A Clabby (0-2, 1f), P Winters (0-3, 2f, 1 ’65).

Subs: D Gormley for Desmond, O O’Rourke for McHugh, C Boland for Winters

Galway: S Mannion, C Diviney, P Killeen, P Mannion; A Tuohy (0-1), S Sweeney, J Hanbury, P Brehony (0-4), D Higgins (0-1), J Flynn (0-3), J Glynn, B Lane, G O'Donoghue (0-1), J Carr (0-1), S Maloney (1-9 (0-6f).

Subs: M Mullan for Hanbury, K Cullinane for Higgins, D Dolan (0-1) for O’Donoghue, P Flaherty for Carr

Referee: J Ryan (Tipperary)

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.