Ballyboden make it a historic double

Dublin SHC Final: Ballyboden St. Enda’s 1-16 Craobh Chiarain 0-12

Dublin SHC Final: Ballyboden St. Enda’s 1-16 Craobh Chiarain 0-12

Ballyboden St. Enda’s retained their Dublin SHC title at Parnell Park this afternoon, completing a prized county senior championship double for the Firhouse Road club.

Today’s hard-fought 1-16 to 0-12 victory confirmed Ballyboden as the first club to win a three in-a-row of senior hurling crowns since O’Toole’s did so between 1995 and 1997.

In addition, they are the first club to secure a senior football and hurling championship double in the capital since St. Vincent’s in 1981.

Captained by Wexford’s Malachy Travers, ‘Boden were only 0-9 to 0-7 ahead at half-time having had a strong wind behind them.

But a scrappy goal from the consistently good Paul Ryan and some expert point-taking from dual star Conal Keaney and David Curtin strengthened the lead for Liam Hogan’s men.

With Travers, Darragh Spain and Tim Sweeney sweeping up well in the half-backs, Craobh’s route to goal was becoming increasingly difficult and Alan McCrabbe, Dublin’s first All-Star in 19 years, reeled away in agony when missing a late penalty.

On the whole, Ballyboden’s defence coped well with the threat of McCrabbe, David Keane and the pacy Francis Usanga.

Last winners in 2006, Craobh also had full-forward Jonathan McGuirk sent off after a scuffle as Dave Kelly’s side had to bow to the better team on the day.

Ballyboden’s Ryan ended the game with a stunning total of 1-11 from frees and play.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up