Clare and Tipp set up challenge match

With a break in the National Hurling League next weekend, Munster giants Tipperary and Clare have teed up an enticing challenge match for Sunday at Templederry (throw-in 2.30pm).

With a break in the National Hurling League next weekend, Munster giants Tipperary and Clare have teed up an enticing challenge match for Sunday at Templederry (throw-in 2.30pm).

The clash will mark the opening of the Kenyon Community Centre, which will be performed before the throw-in by GAA President Sean Kelly.

Both Tipp manager Babs Keating and Clare boss Anthony Daly have named experimental line-ups with a view to sounding out players before the league's final stages and the start of the Munster Championship in May.

The two sides will meet again in the Munster SHC final on June 25 if Tipp can see off Limerick and Waterford, and Clare can avenge last summer's All-Ireland semi-final defeat by Cork in the other side of the draw.

The line-ups for Sunday's clash at the north Tipperary venue are listed below.

TIPPERARY: Damien Young (Drom & Inch); Patrick Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh), Shane McDermott (Cappawhite), Paul Ormond (Loughmore-Castleiney); Damian McGrath (Knockavilla Kickhams), John Devane (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Hugh Moloney (Nenagh Eire Og); Colin Morrissey (Galtee Rovers), James Woodlock (Drom & Inch); Tony Scroope (Burgess), Eoin Brislane (Toomevara), Ken Dunne (Toomevara); Seamus Butler (Drom & Inch), Declan Fanning (Killenaule), Darragh Egan (Kildangan).

Substitutes: Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange), Eamonn Buckley (Drom & Inch), Michael Ryan (Moneygall), Liam England (Roscrea), John Enright (Thurles Sarsfields), John O'Brien (Toomevara), Niall Curran (Mullinahone).

CLARE: Philip Brennan (Tulla); Tommy Holland (Whitegate), John Coen (Wolfe Tones), Pat Donnellan (O'Callaghan's Mills); Fergus Flynn (Eire Og, Ennis), Sean McMahon (St. Josephs Doora Barefield), Gerry Quinn (Corofin); Colin Lynch (Lissycasey), Brian Lynch (Tulla); James McInerney (Newmarket On Fergus), Barry Nugent (Eire Og), Derrick Quinn (Clarecastle); Daithi O'Connell (Wolfe Tones), Tony Griffin (Ballyea), Declan O'Rourke (Wolfe Tones).

Substitutes: Davy Fitzgerald (Sixmilebridge), Conor Harrison (Clooney), Conor McMahon (Kilmaley), Fergus Lynch (Clooney), Ger O'Grady (Crusheen), David Hoey (St. Josephs Doora Barefield), Paddy Vaughan (Crusheen), Tony Carmody (Inagh).

More in this section

courtsgaaheathrowplace: templederryplace: kenyon community centreplace: north tipperaryperson: presidentperson: sean kellyperson: babsperson: keatingperson: anthony dalyperson: damien youngperson: patrick stapletonperson: -ileighperson: shane mcdermottperson: cappawhiteperson: paul ormondperson: damian mcgrathperson: john devaneperson: hugh moloneyperson: nenagh éire ógperson: colin morrisseyperson: james woodlockperson: tony scroopeperson: burgessperson: eoin brislaneperson: toomevaraperson: ken dunneperson: seamus butlerperson: declan fanningperson: killenauleperson: darragh eganperson: brendan cumminsperson: ballybacon-grangeperson: eamonn buckleyperson: michael ryanperson: moneygallperson: liam englandperson: john enrightperson: thurles sarsfieldsperson: john o'brienperson: niall curranperson: mullinahoneperson: philip brennanperson: tommy hollandperson: john coenperson: pat donnellanperson: o'callaghan's millsperson: fergus flynnperson: éire ógperson: ennisperson: sean mcmahonperson: barefieldperson: gerry quinnperson: corofinperson: colin lynchperson: lissycaseyperson: brian lynchperson: james mcinerneyperson: barry nugentperson: derrick quinnperson: clarecastleperson: daithi o'connellperson: tony griffinperson: declan o'rourkeperson: davy fitzgeraldperson: conor harrisonperson: clooneyperson: conor mcmahonperson: kilmaleyperson: fergus lynchperson: ger o'gradyperson: crusheenperson: david hoeyperson: st. josephs doora barefieldperson: paddy vaughanperson: tony carmodyperson: inaghevent: national hurling leagueevent: munster championshipevent: munster shc finalevent: all-irelandorganisation: clareorganisation: tipporganisation: munsterorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: gaaorganisation: limerickorganisation: waterfordorganisation: corkorganisation: drom & inchorganisation: loughmoreorganisation: knockavilla kickhamsorganisation: clonoultyorganisation: galtee roversorganisation: tullaorganisation: whitegateorganisation: wolfe tonesorganisation: newmarket on fergus

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up