Three-goal Tipp see out tense win

Limerick 2-12 Tipperary 3-10

Limerick 2-12 Tipperary 3-10

Tipperary hung on at the death as a late rally from Limerick including an injury time goal from Andrew O’Shaughnessy proved not enough in front of 27,614 at a wet Gaelic Grounds.

The Premier repeated their 2002 Munster semi-final success by advancing to the next round of the All-Ireland SHC qualifiers.

Dublin referee Aodhan MacSuibhne endured the mire of the home crowd as he failed to award what could have been a game-levelling free for a foul on Donie Ryan in the fourth minute of injury time.

But in truth Ken Hogan’s men did just enough, going through on the back of goals from Tommy Dunne, John Carroll and Seamus Butler in a ten-minute spell either side of the half-time whistle.

Limerick, who lost out agonisingly to Cork by three points in the Munster championship, relied heavily on the point-scoring of Niall Moran (0-07).

And despite two goals from O’Shaughnessy, the first on 31 minutes, crashed out as Butler’s goal 23 seconds after the restart and successive points from Colin Morrissey, Butler and Benny Dunne saw the Premier open a 3-06 to 0-07 gap after 48 minutes.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up