Kieran McGeeney facing 12-week ban following exchange with linesman last month

Armagh manager Kieran McGeeney faces a 12-week suspension arising from an incident in last month’s Division 3 game against Antrim.
Kieran McGeeney facing 12-week ban following exchange with linesman last month

Disciplinary officials have confirmed McGeeney is to be banned from the sideline for the June 4 Ulster quarter-final against Down in Páirc Esler and beyond after an exchange with linesman Joe McQuillan.

It is understood the 45-year-old’s penalty proposed by the Central Competitions Control Committee (CCCC) has already been upheld by the Central Hearings Committee before which McGeeney unsuccessfully made his case.

Contacted by the Irish Examiner, Armagh chairman Paul McArdle said the board would “not be saying anything at this stage”.

However, it is expected McGeeney will apply to the Central Appeals Committee to hear his argument against the punishment. Failing that, the Disputes Resolution Authority remains an option for the 2002 SFC All-Ireland winning captain.

In a bad-tempered clash in the Athletic Grounds on March 25 won by Armagh 1-12 to 0-13, the home side had Stephen Sheridan sent off while Antrim had Conor Murray and Stephen Beatty also dismissed for straight red card offences.

The Saffrons’ Conor Hamill was shown a red for a yellow and black card combination and in total there were seven yellow cards. The incident involving McQuillan is believed to have been mentioned in the report of referee Niall Cullen.

Arising from the same game, the Antrim County Board were also remaining tight-lipped after their senior football panel yesterday wrote a letter to a newspaper lambasting their behaviour towards Matthew Fitzpatrick.

The CCCC had been unable to identify a player involved in an incident against Armagh in last month’s Division 3 game but according to the squad the disciplinary body was assisted by the Antrim board in discovering it was Fitzpatrick on two occasions.

Fitzpatrick now faces the possibility of missing their Ulster opener against Donegal on Ballybofey on May 21.

Part of the letter read: “We find it unacceptable that not only was this player suspended as a result of information provided by our own county board but that there was no county representative available to accompany him for his appeal. We do not believe this course of action would occur in any other county. Unfortunately, as a team, we cannot stand by and allow this mistreatment of our team-mate. We feel we need to make our concerns clear to our county board that we find it completely unacceptable that any player who dedicated months of hard work and sacrificed many parts of his life to represent his county should be treated in this way and let down by representatives who are purportedly in a position of support. This decision will be contested again and we would expect full support from our county board in this matter.”

Elsewhere, Limerick senior hurling manager John Kiely has announced a 31-man championship panel.

While Barry Nash is included having recently returned to the set-up, seven players have been cut – Kevin Downes, John Fitzgibbon, Andrew La Touche Cosgrave, David McCarthy, Seánie and Kevin O’Brien and Seánie Tobin.

Limerick 2017 SHC squad:

Declan Hannon (Adare), Dan Morrissey (Ahane), Tom Morrissey (Ahane), Richie McCarthy (Blackrock), Paul Browne (Bruff), Sean Finn (Bruff), Richie English (Doon), Pat Ryan (Doon), Darragh O’Donovan (Doon), Nicky Quaid (Effin), James Ryan (Garryspillane, captain), Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry), Gavin O’Mahony (Kilmallock), Barry Hennessy (Kilmallock), Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock), Tom Condon (Knockaderry), Seamus Hickey (Murroe/Boher), Alan Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Shane Dowling (Na Piarsaigh), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), Michael Casey (Na Piarsaigh), Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh), Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen), Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell), Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell), Barry Nash (South Liberties), Gearóid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s), Stephen Cahill (Tournafulla).

More in this section

GaaPlace: Páirc EslerPlace: BallybofeyPerson: Kieran McGeeneyPerson: McGeeneyPerson: Joe McQuillanPerson: Paul McArdlePerson: Stephen SheridanPerson: Conor MurrayPerson: Stephen BeattyPerson: Conor HamillPerson: McQuillanPerson: Niall CullenPerson: Matthew FitzpatrickPerson: FitzpatrickPerson: John KielyPerson: Barry NashPerson: Kevin DownesPerson: John FitzgibbonPerson: Andrew La Touche CosgravePerson: David McCarthyPerson: SeániePerson: Kevin O’BrienPerson: Seanie TobinPerson: Declan HannonPerson: AdarePerson: Dan MorrisseyPerson: AhanePerson: Tom MorrisseyPerson: Richie McCarthyPerson: Paul BrownePerson: BruffPerson: Seán FinnPerson: Richie EnglishPerson: DoonPerson: Pat RyanPerson: Darragh O’DonovanPerson: Nicky QuaidPerson: EffinPerson: James RyanPerson: GarryspillanePerson: Kyle HayesPerson: Gavin O’MahonyPerson: Barry HennessyPerson: Graeme MulcahyPerson: Tom CondonPerson: Séamus HickeyPerson: Alan DempseyPerson: Shane DowlingPerson: Ronan LynchPerson: Michael CaseyPerson: Peter CaseyPerson: David DempseyPerson: William O’DonoghuePerson: Colin RyanPerson: Diarmaid ByrnesPerson: PatrickswellPerson: Cian LynchPerson: Aaron GillanePerson: Gearoid HegartyPerson: Stephen CahillEvent: 2002 SFC All-IrelandEvent: Limerick 2017Organisation: ArmaghOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: DownOrganisation: Central Competitions Control CommitteeOrganisation: CCCCOrganisation: Central Hearings CommitteeOrganisation: Irish ExaminerOrganisation: Central Appeals CommitteeOrganisation: Disputes Resolution AuthorityOrganisation: Antrim County BoardOrganisation: UlsterOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: BlackrockOrganisation: KilmallockOrganisation: Na PiarsaighOrganisation: South LibertiesOrganisation: St. Patrick’sOrganisation: Tournafulla
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.255 s