Tyrone name unchanged team for Ulster decider

Mickey Harte has named an unchanged team from the one that hammered Cavan 5-18 to 2-17 in their Ulster SFC semi-final replay for Sunday’s final against Donegal at Clones, throw-in 2pm.

Tyrone name unchanged team for Ulster decider

Tyrone have yet to lose in 16 fixtures this season in all competitions but have not faced a Division 1 side since losing to Kerry in last year’s All-Ireland semi-final at Croke Park.

Donegal manager Rory Gallagher has yet to name his team but is expected to welcome back full-back Neil McGee to the fray having missed both the drawn and replayed Ulster semi-final against Monaghan through suspension following his red card against Fermanagh.

Donegal are appearing in a sixth successive Ulster SFC, while Sunday’s clash is Tyrone’s first time back in the final since 2010.

Derry also last night named their team for their Round 3A qualifier against Cavan at Breffni Park. The Oak Leafers came from seven points down to beat Meath last Saturday in Owenbeg on a 1-14 to 1-11 scoreline.

Meanwhile, Wexford will be without Podge Doran for the remainder of the championship after he picked up a horrific leg injury in last Saturday’s All-Ireland SHC qualifier win over Cork.

Doran suffered a lateral collateral ligament damage with a fibular avulsion fracture. On top of that, he endured a lateral meniscus tear in his knee as well as a hamstring and peronei muscle tear. The Oylegate-Glenbrien man, 23, went off injured a minute before the end of the first-half. His absence is a further blow to Liam Dunne who is already without the likes of Andrew Shore (cruciate), Shaun Murphy (shoulder) and Ian Byrne (calf) as they prepare to face Waterford in Thurles in Sunday week’s All-Ireland quarter-final.


N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron; T McCann, J McMahon, P Harte; C Cavanagh, M Donnelly; C McShane, N Sludden, R McNabb; C McAliskey, S Cavanagh, R O’Neill.


T Mallon; G McKinless, C McKaigue, K McKaigue;C McFaul, B Rodgers, C Mullan; C McAtamney, N Holly; D Heavron, C Bradley, E Brown; J Kielt, E McGuckin, M Lynch.

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd