Clare duo to miss Division 1 semi-final

Clare have been hit by a double body blow ahead of Sunday’s Division 1 semi-final against Kilkenny as Shane O’Donnell and David McInerney have been ruled out.

Clare duo to miss Division 1 semi-final

The pair, who missed out on the quarter-final win over Tipperary because of foot and back injuries respectively, will not be involved after scans determined they’re not ready to return to action.

O’Donnell completed half a training session on Tuesday but will not be risked now.

Meanwhile the Cork side for tomorrow’s EirGrid All-Ireland U21FC semi-final clash with Monaghan at O’Connor Park (4.30pm) is unchanged from last week’s Munster final win over Kerry.

Seán Hayes’s Rebels edged past the Kingdom by a point in the provincial decider, despite losing injured pair Ronan O’Toole (hamstring) and Don O’Driscoll (ankle) from the side originally selected. While Clann nan Gael clubman O’Driscoll was always ruled out for this tie, Éire Óg midfielder O’Toole had been given an outside chance of being back but hasn’t been passed fit.

Seán O’Leary continues at midfield alongside Seán White, who scored the key third goal last week, with Seán Powter named at centre-forward despite having to retire in the first half against Kerry with an injury of his own.

The game, and the Dublin-Mayo semi-final at 2.45pm, also in Tullamore, will be televised live by TG4.

Elsewhere, Tipperary senior hurling manager Michael Ryan has added Thurles Sarsfields duo Stephen Cahill and Aidan McCormack to his panel ahead of the Munster SHC quarter-final with Cork on May 22.

Cahill and McCormack were two of the most impressive players for Sars in their march to successive county titles in 2014 and 2015.

Cahill was an All-Ireland minor winner with Tipp in 2012 while McCormack was marked out as a potential senior intercounty star of the future back in 2010, when he scored a hat-trick of goals in defeat against Cork in a classic Munster minor championship clash.

CORK (U21F v Monaghan):

A Casey (Kiskeam); M McSweeney (Newcestown), J Mullins (Éire Óg), D Quinn (St Finbarr’s), K Flahive (Douglas), S Cronin (Nemo Rangers), K Histon (Cobh); S White (Clonakilty), S O’Leary (Bantry Blues); S O’Donoghue (Inniscarra), S Powter (Douglas), R Harkin (Mallow); B Coakley (Carrigaline), P Kelleher (Kilmichael), M Hurley (Castlehaven).


R Donovan (Nemo Rangers), S Daly (Dohenys), K Cremin (Boherbue), C Kiely (Ballincollig), E Lavers (Dohenys), S Sherlock (St Finbarr’s), D Ó Duinnín (Cill na Martra), S O’Donovan (Ilen Rovers), C Dorgan (Ballincollig).

Here's a little extra sport. Watch the latest BallTalk for the best sports chat and analysis:

Premier League Manager of the season

Premier League Player of the season

Premier League Flops of the Season

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: O’Connor ParkPlace: TullamorePerson: Shane OPerson: DonnellPerson: David McInerneyPerson: O’DonnellPerson: Sean HayesPerson: Ronan O’ToolePerson: Don O’DriscollPerson: O’DriscollPerson: Éire ÓgPerson: O’ToolePerson: Sean O’LearyPerson: Sean WhitePerson: Seán PowterPerson: Michael RyanPerson: Stephen CahillPerson: Aidan McCormackPerson: CahillPerson: McCormackPerson: SarsPerson: M McSweeneyPerson: J MullinsPerson: ÓgPerson: D QuinnPerson: K FlahivePerson: S CroninPerson: K HistonPerson: S WhitePerson: S O’LearyPerson: S O’DonoghuePerson: S PowterPerson: R HarkinPerson: B CoakleyPerson: P KelleherPerson: M HurleyPerson: R DonovanPerson: S DalyPerson: DohenysPerson: K CreminPerson: C KielyPerson: E LaversPerson: S SherlockPerson: D Ó DuinnínPerson: Cill Na MartraPerson: S O’DonovanPerson: RoversPerson: C DorganEvent: EirGrid All-Ireland U21FCEvent: MunsterEvent: Dublin-MayoEvent: Munster SHC quarter-finalEvent: All-IrelandEvent: Munster minorOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: RebelsOrganisation: Clann nan GaelOrganisation: TG4Organisation: TipperaryOrganisation: Thurles SarsfieldsOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: TippOrganisation: U21FOrganisation: KiskeamOrganisation: NewcestownOrganisation: ÉireOrganisation: St Finbarr’sOrganisation: DouglasOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: CobhOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: Bantry BluesOrganisation: InniscarraOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: StOrganisation: ’sOrganisation: BallTalk
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd