Sligo hold off fightback as Limerick’s fate is sealed

Sligo 3-10 Limerick 1-12: Limerick’s relegation to Division Four of the AFL was confirmed following their four-point loss to Sligo, 3-10 to 1-12, at Markievicz Park.

Sligo hold off fightback as Limerick’s fate is sealed

John Brudair’s side, without a win in five games ahead of their Sligo trip, needed a win in the north-west and Westmeath to lose — they got neither, as a season in the bottom tier beckons.

Although Limerick went 10 points down, 3-7 to 1-3, after Sligo’s third goal in the 46th minute, a gutsy revival saw them shoot six unanswered points in a 10-minute period to bring the gap back to three, 3-9 to 1-12, in added time.

Two of these points could have yielded goals but shots from Peter Nash and Thomas Lee were driven over Sligo net-minder Aidan Devaney’s crossbar rather than under.

The losers only scored twice in the first half, one of these scores was Darragh Tracey’s 14th-minute goal, and trailed by five points at half-time, 1-6 to 1-1.

Sligo, whose first goal was a sweet curling effort from teenager Kyle Cawley after 19 minutes, put themselves in control of matters when centre-back Brendan Egan goaled from Cian Breheny’s assist just 20 seconds after the re-start.

Brian Egan’s goal 11 minutes later — he tucked home from a rebound after Neil Ewing’s shot was blocked by Limerick net-minder Brian Scanlon –—appeared to leave Sligo coasting but a number of personnel changes, including Brendan Egan going off injured, left them vulnerable.

A plus for Sligo was Adrian Marren’s return from injury — he played the entire second half and contributed three points — while Adrian McIntyre, Niall Murphy, and Neil Ewing again impressed.

Limerick boss John Brudair was disappointed afterwards. He said: “In the second half, if you take away the two [Sligo] goals, I think we were as good as them. But we are not playing consistently well enough in games — 15/20 minutes of good play won’t be enough at this level.

“The results in the first two rounds certainly came back to haunt us.”

Scorers Sligo:

Niall Murphy (0-4, 2f), Brian Egan (1-1), Kyle Cawley (1-1), Brendan Egan (1-0), Adrian Marren (0-3, 2f), Adrian McIntyre (0-1)

Limerick scorers:

Ian Ryan (0-4, 4f), Darragh Tracey (1-1), Danny Neville (0-2), Peter Nash (0-2), Killian Ryan (0-1), Brian Fanning (0-1), Thomas Lee (0-1)


A Devaney, D Maye, K McDonnell, C Harrison, K Cawley, B Egan, G O’Kelly-Lynch, A McIntyre, N Murphy, N Ewing, C Breheny, C Davey, K Cawley, P Hughes, B Egan


A Marren for P Hughes, h-t; D Rooney for G O’Kelly-Lynch, 52; P Clarke for B Egan, 62; L Henry for B Egan, 62


B Scanlon, J McCarthy, P Browne, S O’Dea, I Corbett, M Donovan, S Cahill, T Lee, D Tracey, C Sheehan, D Neville, A Enright, I Ryan, P Nash, G Noonan


C Fahy for M Donovan, 38; K Ryan for A Enright, 43; B Fanning for C Sheehan, 58 (black card); S McSweeney for I Ryan, 65; P White for S Cahill, 65


Paul Faloon (Dowd)

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd