Brian Turnbull stars as Rochestown College retain title in brilliant style

St Francis College Rochestown 3-24 Scoil Mhuire gan Smál Blarney 0-8: St Francis College Rochestown secured back-to-back O’Callaghan Cup (Cork Post Primary Schools SAHC) titles at the CIT Sports Stadium yesterday evening. 
Brian Turnbull stars as Rochestown College retain title in brilliant style

A dazzling shooting display from the Harty Cup contenders proved too much for first time finalists Scoil Mhuire gan Smál.

Superior in most sectors, once they got into their stride their power and movement outclassed the Blarney boys. Corner-forward Brian Turnbull hit 3-4, the Douglas player’s second goal on the brink of half-time easing them 2-11 to 0-4 ahead at the break.

Scoil Mhuire started brightly with points from Michael John Shine, David O’Donovan, Kevin Cremin and Mark Coleman and were level 0-4 points apiece after quarter of an hour. But, when Turnbull collected a dropping ball from John O’Sullivan and rattled the net St Francis College led 1-5 to 0-4. They gradually upped the tempo as their forward unit picked off fine scores and they led by 13 points at the interval.

A pair of Coleman frees restarted the second half but it wasn’t long before the Roco radar zoned in again. Nine points to one they outscored their opponents by before Turnbull netted — quickest to react to one of three fine saves by Scoil Mhuire custodian James Dineen.

As the clock ran down, the Blarney school kept trying and had a goal chance swept off the line by Rossa Ó Colmáin. Ultimately, the game panned out with Rochestown firing another six points to run out comprehensive victors. The only concern was a shoulder injury to Donnchadh Murphy near the very end and they will be hoping the defender will be fit for next month’s much-anticipated Harty Cup showdown with Ardscoil Rís.

Scorers for St Francis College:

B Turnbull (3-4, 0-3 frees), C Cormack (0-5, two frees, one 65m), E O’Brien (0-4), S Kingston and J O’Sullivan (0-3 each), S Powter, D O’Flaherty, M McAuliffe, D Murphy and S Hillard (0-1 each).

Scorers for Scoil Mhuire gan Smál:

M Coleman (0-3 frees), M J Shine (0-2), D O’Donovan, K Cremin and P McSweeney (0-1 each).

St Francis College:

D O’Mahony (Blackrock); R Ó Colmáin (Blackrock), D Murphy (Douglas), K O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers); L Dunlea (Ballygarvan), J Cashman (Blackrock), M McAulliffe (Douglas); J O’Sullivan (Blackrock), D O’Flaherty (Tracton); E O’Brien (Douglas), C Cormack (Blackrock), J Holland (Douglas); S Kingston (Douglas), S Powter (Douglas), B Turnbull (Douglas).


R Crowley (Blackrock) for L Dunlea (39), D Stack (Carrigaline) for M McAuliffe (44), J Golden (Douglas) for B Turnbull (50), D Andrew (Shamrocks) for K O’Donovan (52), S Hillard (Cobh) for J Holland (54).

Scoil Mhuire gan Smál:

J Dineen (Blarney); P Barry Murphy (Grenagh), B Buckley (Grenagh), B Walsh (Blarney); A McEvoy (Blarney), S Cronin (Grenagh), M J Shine (Blarney); M Coleman (Blarney), C Power (Blarney); C Forde (Blarney), C McCarthy (Blarney), D O’Hanlon (Blarney); K Cremin (Blarney), P Walsh (Grenagh), D O’Donovan (Whitechurch).


B Dennehy (Blarney) for D O’Donovan, P McSweeney (Grenagh) for P Walsh (both 43), P O’Connell (Blarney) for P Barry Murphy (50), O Hegarty (Blarney) for B Walsh (53).


Nathan Wall (Carrigaline).

More in this section

gaahurlingplace: cit sports stadiumperson: brian turnbullperson: scoil mhuireperson: michael john shineperson: david o’donovanperson: kevin creminperson: mark colemanperson: turnbullperson: john o’sullivanperson: colemanperson: james dineenperson: rossa ó colmáinperson: rochestownperson: donnchadh murphyperson: b turnbullperson: c cormackperson: e o’brienperson: s kingstonperson: j o’sullivanperson: s powterperson: d o’flahertyperson: m mcauliffeperson: d murphyperson: s hillardperson: scoil mhuire gan smálperson: m colemanperson: m j shineperson: d o’donovanperson: k creminperson: p mcsweeneyperson: d o’mahonyperson: r ó colmáinperson: k o’donovanperson: l dunleaperson: ballygarvanperson: j cashmanperson: m mcaulliffeperson: douglasperson: j hollandperson: r crowleyperson: d stackperson: j goldenperson: d andrewperson: smalperson: j dineenperson: blarneyperson: p barry murphyperson: b buckleyperson: grenaghperson: b walshperson: a mcevoyperson: s croninperson: c powerperson: c fordeperson: c mccarthyperson: d o’hanlonperson: p walshperson: whitechurchperson: b dennehyperson: pperson: mcsweeneyperson: p o’connellperson: barry murphyperson: o hegartyperson: nathan wallevent: callaghan cupevent: harty cuporganisation: rochestown collegeorganisation: st francis college rochestownorganisation: blarneyorganisation: cork post primary schools sahcorganisation: st francis collegeorganisation: rocoorganisation: blarney schoolorganisation: ardscoil rísorganisation: blackrockorganisation: nemo rangersorganisation: tractonorganisation: shamrocksorganisation: cobh
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up