St Brendan’s College renew rivalry with Coláiste Na Sceilge

The remaining six Corn Uí Mhuirí quarter-final spots will be decided this afternoon, with the final round of group games across the province.

St Brendan’s College renew rivalry with Coláiste Na Sceilge

One of the sides that are through, St Brendan’s College of Killarney, will still be trying to ensure that they top Group B, when they face Coláiste na Sceilge in Cromane.

It is the second meeting of the sides inside a week, with Brendan’s victorious (2-12 to 0-9) in Thursday’s O’Sullivan Cup final (Kerry schools senior championship), with David Shaw and David Clifford impressing for them.

If ‘The Sem’ win, then the second qualifying spot may be decided by scoring difference.

St Flannan’s College, Ennis — who face Abbey CBS of Tipperary town in Claughaun in the group’s other game — drew with Sceilge, whose points difference is currently 14 better than the Clare school.

In Group C, the winners of the last three titles, Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne, face Cork’s Coláiste Chríost Rí in Fitzgerald Stadium in a play-off for the runners-up spot.

Both schools have already lost to Rathmore’s Pobalscoil Sliabh Luachra, who face the already-eliminated DLS Macroom in Mallow, with Rathmore knowing that their status as group winners cannot be affected.

Both Group A and Group D still have a number of permutations. CBS HS Clonmel have won both of their Group A games and victory against Tralee CBS in Glanworth (with a throw-in of 1pm — all other matches are 1.30pm) will ensure that they top the section. Should Tralee win, however, both they and Clonmel would be on four points and St Francis College, Rochestown would also reach that tally if they beat IS Killorglin, who have yet to claim a point, in Millstreet.

It’s a similar situation in Group D. Clonakilty CC, who have already beaten Skibbereen’s St Fachtna’s and Mercy Mounthawk of Tralee, meet Coláiste Choilm in Brinny.

Coláiste Choilm need to win and hope that Fachtna’s, who can’t qualify, can overcome Mercy Mounthawk, a situation which would send them through as group winners.

A Clon win would see them top the group and leave Tralee’s qualification in their own hands, while Coláiste Choilm and Tralee wins would see a three-way tie.

Meanwhile Christian Brothers College, Cork, earned their first piece of Munster silverware at Shanballymore yesterday, claiming the Corn Shéamais Uí Dhonnchú (Munster U16½ B hurling) title after a titanic struggle with Tipperary’s Abbey CBS, winning 0-9 to 0-6. Inspired by Cork minor panellist, Robert Downey, and the power and prowess of Tommy O’Connell, Seán Dolan and Denis McBarron, CBC overturned a 0-4 to 0-2 half-time deficit to run out deserving winners.

Led in defence by goalkeeper and captain, Daithí Heffernan (son of former Limerick star, Pat), Christians’ teak-tough defence again proved impenetrable, having not conceded a goal in the four rounds of competition.

Despite the best efforts of Abbey’s Niall Heffernan, Fergus Halligan and ace freetaker, Aidan Griffin, Christians finished the fourth quarter in style and lift their first provincial hurling title.

Scorers for CBC:

T O’Connell (0-6, 4f); D McBarron (0-2), S Barrett (0-1).

Scorers for Abbey CBS:

A Griffin (0-5f); N Heffernan (0-1).


D Heffernan (capt.) (Mallow); D Murphy (Sars), B Slattery (Mallow), S Greene (Blackrock); M Crowley (Sars), R Downey (Glen Rovers), A Cronin (Glen Rovers); T O’Connell (Midleton), J Cremin (Douglas); S Dolan (Sars), D McCarthy (Sars), M Palmer (Sars); C O’Flynn (Na Piarsaigh), B Hartnett (Douglas), D McBarron (Carrigaline).

Subs: D Barry (Sars) for Cronin; S Barrett (Blarney) for Palmer; N Hartnett (Douglas) for B Hartnett.


C Ryan (Arravale Rovers); C Leahy (do.), B Barlow (Golden/Kilfeacle), C O’Halloran (Lattin/Cullen); P Devlin (Éire Óg Annacarthy / Donohill), N Heffernan (capt.) (Golden/Kilfeacle), T Byron (Galtee Rovers); E McCormack (Knockavilla / Donaskeigh Kickhams), T Corcoran (Lattin / Cullen); C O’Dwyer ((Knockavilla / Donaskeigh Kickhams), F Halligan (Arravale Rovers), M Moroney (do.); A Griffin (Éire Óg Annacarthy / Donohill), J Lowry (Arravale Rvs.), A McGrath (Galtee Rovers)


K Walsh (Clare).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: CromanePlace: TipperaryPlace: ClaughaunPlace: Fitzgerald StadiumPlace: MallowPlace: GlanworthPlace: MillstreetPlace: TraleePlace: BrinnyPlace: ShanballymorePerson: David ShawPerson: David CliffordPerson: SkibbereenPerson: MERCY MOUNTHAWKPerson: ColáistePerson: Robert DowneyPerson: Tommy O’ConnellPerson: Sean DolanPerson: Denis McBarronPerson: Daithí HeffernanPerson: PatPerson: Niall HeffernanPerson: Fergus HalliganPerson: Aidan GriffinPerson: T O’ConnellPerson: D McBarronPerson: S BarrettPerson: N HeffernanPerson: D HeffernanPerson: MallowPerson: D MurphyPerson: SarsPerson: B SlatteryPerson: S GreenePerson: M CrowleyPerson: R DowneyPerson: A CroninPerson: MidletonPerson: J CreminPerson: DouglasPerson: S DolanPerson: D McCarthyPerson: M PalmerPerson: C O’FlynnPerson: Na PiarsaighPerson: B HartnettPerson: D BarryPerson: CroninPerson: BlarneyPerson: PalmerPerson: N HartnettPerson: C RyanPerson: C LeahyPerson: B BarlowPerson: C O’HalloranPerson: LattinPerson: CullenPerson: P DevlinPerson: Éire Óg AnnacarthyPerson: DonohillPerson: T ByronPerson: E McCormackPerson: T CorcoranPerson: C O’DwyerPerson: F HalliganPerson: M MoroneyPerson: A GriffinPerson: J LowryPerson: A McGrathPerson: K WalshEvent: O’Sullivan Cup finalEvent: schools senior championshipOrganisation: St Brendan’s CollegeOrganisation: Coláiste na SceilgeOrganisation: St Brendan’s College of KillarneyOrganisation: St Flannan’s CollegeOrganisation: Abbey CBSOrganisation: Clare schoolOrganisation: Pobalscoil Chorca DhuibhneOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: Coláiste ChríostOrganisation: RathmoreOrganisation: Pobalscoil Sliabh LuachraOrganisation: DLS MacroomOrganisation: CBS HS ClonmelOrganisation: Tralee CBSOrganisation: TraleeOrganisation: ClonmelOrganisation: St Francis CollegeOrganisation: RochestownOrganisation: Christian Brothers CollegeOrganisation: Corn Shéamais Uí DhonnchúOrganisation: Munster U16½Organisation: CBCOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: Christians’Organisation: AbbeyOrganisation: ChristiansOrganisation: BlackrockOrganisation: Glen RoversOrganisation: Arravale RoversOrganisation: GoldenOrganisation: KilfeacleOrganisation: Galtee RoversOrganisation: KnockavillaOrganisation: Donaskeigh KickhamsOrganisation: LattinOrganisation: ArravaleOrganisation: Clare
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.227 s