Coakley point secures Carrigaline's senior status

Carrigaline will play senior football for the first time in 2016 after they edged St Michael’s in the Cork Premier IFC final in Páirc Uí Rinn on Sunday.

Coakley point secures Carrigaline's senior status

Carrigaline 0-12

St Michael’s 0-11

In a game where more than one point only separated the teams on two occasions, this could have gone either way and Michael’s will rue a missed goal chance with five minutes left.

Carrig led by 0-11 to 0-10 at that stage but Michael Mulconroy broke through for the city side and the ball fell nicely to Mark Drummond. Unfortunately for him, however, his shot hit the post and Killian Forbes was able to clear, with Carrigaline working the ball up the field and winning a free which Brian Coakley converted.

Having led by 0-2 to 0-0 early on, it was the biggest lead enjoyed since then and, while Michael’s Paul Cronin did get his sixth point in response, an equaliser couldn’t be found.

Up until then, equalisers were in plentiful supply, with the teams level on nine occasions after the scoring had been opened. Mulconroy was excellent for Michael’s in the first half, who had Cronin on form from frees while Coakley and David Drake impressed for Carrigaline.

The second half remained nip and tuck, with Carrigaline captain Barry O’Keeffe tying the game at 0-9 in the 46th minute.

Michael’s sub Alan Nolan put them ahead with his first touch but it was the last time they led. Shane Griffin and Drake restored Carrigaline’s lead and, after Drummond’s goal chance, Coakley secured the win.

Scorers for Carrigaline: D Drake 0-3, B Coakley 0-3 (two frees) each, N Murphy, K Kavanagh, B O’Keeffe, B Pope, S Griffin, S O’Brien 0-1 each.

Scorers for St Michael’s: P Cronin 0-6 (frees), M Mulconroy 0-2, E Hegarty (free), A Nolan, S O’Keeffe, E Hegarty (free) 0-1 each.

CARRIGALINE: S Mellett; K Forbes, P Murphy, P Ronayne; C McSweeney, C Barry, E O’Connor; N Murphy, E Kavanagh; E Ryle, B O’Keeffe, K Kavanagh; B Pope, B Coakley, D Drake.

Subs: S Griffin for P Murphy (half-time), S O’Brien for Ryle (40), D Griffin for McSweeney (43), M O’Reilly for E Kavanagh (50), P Murphy for Pope (54).

ST MICHAEL’S: A Deasy; C O’Shaughnessy, R Dineen, D O’Shea; E Hegarty, M Ryan, A O’Callaghan; P Doyle, S O’Keeffe; D Meaney, M Mulconroy, M Drummond; K Hegarty, E Buckley, P Cronin.

Subs: A Murphy for K Hegarty (40), A Nolan for E Hegarty (47), T Deasy for Meaney (54), E Hegarty for Doyle (56).

Referee: D O’Leary (Kiskeam).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd