O’Brien gets nod over Buckley in Kerry half-forward line

Stephen O’Brien replaces Johnny Buckley in the only change to the Kerry side for Sunday’s All-Ireland SFC quarter-final with Kildare in Croke Park (2pm).

O’Brien gets nod over Buckley in Kerry half-forward line

While O’Brien was sent off in the Munster final replay win over Cork, this was for two yellow cards so he avoided suspension. Colm Cooper continues to be held in reserve by manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice, having been introduced from the bench in both Cork games.

When asked earlier this week about the relatively high level of changes from game to game, Fitzmaurice admitted there is no exact science involved and hinted at a more settled set-up.

“It’s a balancing act – you’ve to fit in the fellas who are playing well into a system of play. You’ve to take the opposition into account and balance a team in the equation. At the same time then you’ve to try to get towards a settled team. I think we’re getting more and more towards where we need to be in that regard. But that’s the luxury in having such a strong squad. I think sometimes if you have a settled team it’s because you can’t change it so we’re lucky from that point of view in that we’ve a strong squad, a lot of options there, we can go at it a good few different ways in terms of the way we want to play. And it is a matter of looking at the opposition, looking at who is going well in training, factoring in the last two games in particular against Cork, and you know you’re coming towards your team then. But I think we’re a good bit further down the road than we were this time a month ago before the first Munster final, a good bit more settled than we were.”

Tyrone will be without experienced defender Cathal McCarron for tomorrow’s All-Ireland SFC Qualifier Round 4B clash with Sligo at Croke Park. The Dromore man’s place at corner back will be taken by Rory Brennan, one of three members of the All-Ireland winning U21 team in the starting side. Conor Meyler, who made his senior debut in the win over Tipperary, retains his place in the half forward line alongside All-Ireland U21 team-mate Mark Bradley. Peter Harte has been named at wing back, but is likely to operate as an offensive midfielder, a role in which he has been extremely effective in recent weeks.

Meanwhile, there are three changes on the Kerry minor side for Monday’s All-Ireland quarter-final against Sligo in Tullamore (2pm).

John Mark Foley replaces the injured Mark O’Connor at midfield, Brandon Barrett comes into the half-forward line for Cormac Linnane, who is also injured, and Bryan Sweeney takes over from Michael Foley at full-forward.

Adrian Varley replaces Pádraig Ó Griofa in the only change to the Galway side to face Donegal.

KERRY (SF v Kildare): B Kealy (Kilcummin); D Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), A O’Mahony (Rathmore), S Enright (Tarbert); J Lyne (Legion), K Young (Renard), P Murphy (Rathmore); A Maher (Duagh), D Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys); S O’Brien (Kenmare), B Sheehan (St Mary’s), D Walsh (Cromane); P Geaney (Dingle), K Donaghy (Austin Stacks), J O’Donoghue (Legion). Subs: B Kelly (Legion), C Cooper (Dr Crokes), J Buckley (Dr Crokes), BJ Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys), M Geaney (Dingle), P Crowley (Laune Rangers), F Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes), P Galvin (Finuge), D O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh-Glencar), T Walsh (Kerins O’Rahillys), J Sherwood (Firies).

TYRONE (SF v Sligo): N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, R Brennan; R McNabb, Joe McMahon, P Harte; C Cavanagh, M Donnelly; T McCann, M Bradley, C Meyler; D McCurry, S Cavanagh, C McAliskey.

KERRY (MF v Sligo): B Courtney (Dr Crokes); D Brosnan (Gneeveguilla), J Foley (Ballydonoghue), J Morgan (Austin Stacks); G White (Dr Crokes), M Breen (Beaufort), D O’Brien (Glenflesk); A Barry (Na Gaeil), JM Foley (Kilgarvan); B Barrett (Ardfert), B Ó Seanacháin (Ballydonoghue), S O’Shea (Kemare); S O’Sullivan (Templenoe), B Sweeney (Listowel Emmets), C Geaney (Dingle). Subs: E O’Brien (Churchill), M Foley (Spa), T O’Sullivan (Dingle), D O’Shea (Kenmare), R Buckley (Listry), G O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), E Cronin (Spa), J Goulding (Ballyduff), J Duggan (John Mitchels).

GALWAY (SF v Donegal): B O’Donoghue (Claregalway); J Duane (St James), F Hanley (Salthill/Knocknacarra), C Sweeney (Killanin); G Bradshaw (Moycullen), G O’Donnell (Tuam Stars), L Silke (Corofin); F Ó Curraoin (Micheál Breathnach), T Flynn (Athenry); G Sice (Corofin), P Conroy (St James), M Lundy (Corofin); A Varley (Cortoon Shamrocks), D Comer (Annaghdown), D Cummins (Claregalway).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballGAA Championship 2015Place: Croke ParkPlace: TullamorePerson: BrienPerson: BuckleyPerson: StephenPerson: Johnny BuckleyPerson: O’BrienPerson: Colm CooperPerson: Éamonn FitzmauricePerson: FitzmauricePerson: Cathal McCarronPerson: Rory BrennanPerson: Conor MeylerPerson: Mark BradleyPerson: Peter HartePerson: John Mark FoleyPerson: Mark O’ConnorPerson: Brandon BarrettPerson: Cormac LinnanePerson: Bryan SweeneyPerson: Michael FoleyPerson: Adrian VarleyPerson: Pádraig Ó GríofaPerson: KerryPerson: B KealyPerson: KilcumminPerson: D Ó SéPerson: A O’MahonyPerson: RathmorePerson: S EnrightPerson: TarbertPerson: J LynePerson: K YoungPerson: RenardPerson: P MurphyPerson: A MaherPerson: DuaghPerson: D MoranPerson: Kerins O’RahillysPerson: S O’BrienPerson: KenmarePerson: B SheehanPerson: D WalshPerson: CromanePerson: P GeaneyPerson: DinglePerson: K DonaghyPerson: Austin StacksPerson: J O’DonoghuePerson: LegionPerson: B KellyPerson: C CooperPerson: Dr CrokesPerson: J BuckleyPerson: BJ KeanePerson: M GeaneyPerson: P CrowleyPerson: RANGERSPerson: F FitzgeraldPerson: P GalvinPerson: D O’SullivanPerson: T WalshPerson: J SherwoodPerson: TyronePerson: N MorganPerson: A McCroryPerson: R McNameePerson: R BrennanPerson: R McNabbPerson: Joe McMahonPerson: P HartePerson: C CavanaghPerson: M DonnellyPerson: T McCannPerson: M BradleyPerson: C MeylerPerson: D McCurryPerson: S CavanaghPerson: C McAliskeyPerson: B CourtneyPerson: D BrosnanPerson: J FoleyPerson: BallydonoghuePerson: J MorganPerson: G WhitePerson: M BreenPerson: BeaufortPerson: D O’BrienPerson: GlenfleskPerson: A BarryPerson: Na GaeilPerson: JM FoleyPerson: KilgarvanPerson: B BarrettPerson: ArdfertPerson: B Ó SeanacháinPerson: S O’SheaPerson: KemarePerson: S O’SullivanPerson: TemplenoePerson: B SweeneyPerson: Listowel EmmetsPerson: C GeaneyPerson: E O’BrienPerson: ChurchillPerson: M FoleyPerson: T O’SullivanPerson: D O’SheaPerson: R BuckleyPerson: ListryPerson: G O’SullivanPerson: Dromid PearsesPerson: E CroninPerson: SpaPerson: J GouldingPerson: BallyduffPerson: J DugganPerson: John MitchelsPerson: B O’DonoghuePerson: ClaregalwayPerson: J DuanePerson: St JamesPerson: F HanleyPerson: SalthillPerson: KnocknacarraPerson: C SweeneyPerson: KillaninPerson: G BradshawPerson: MoycullenPerson: G O’DonnellPerson: Tuam StarsPerson: L SilkePerson: CorofinPerson: F Ó CurraoinPerson: Micheál BreathnachPerson: T FlynnPerson: AthenryPerson: G SicePerson: P ConroyPerson: M LundyPerson: A VarleyPerson: D ComerPerson: AnnaghdownPerson: D CumminsEvent: All-Ireland SFCEvent: Munster finalEvent: All-Ireland quarterOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: KildareOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: DromoreOrganisation: All-IrelandOrganisation: U21Organisation: TipperaryOrganisation: All-Ireland U21Organisation: SligoOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: SFOrganisation: St Mary’sOrganisation: FinugeOrganisation: MF
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd