Carrigdhoun advance to last 16

Carrigdhoun 0-18 Carbery 1-12

Trailing by 1-1 to no score inside three minutes, the south-eastern division battled back well and by half-time were level at 0-10 to 1-7. Though excellent wing-back Donncha O’Donovan put them ahead early in the second-half, they then suffered the loss of full-forward Tony Murphy to a second yellow card.

Carbery could not make the most of their numerical advantage, however, and never managed to draw level at any stage during the second-half.

With Mark Kennefick excellent from dead balls and O’Donovan and midfielder Wesley O’Brien prominent, Carrigdhoun were better and would have had a more comfortable win but for poor wides in the second-half.

Having not competed in the championship since 2010, they are now in the last 16 of the championship proper, to the delight of manager Pat Desmond.

“There was an appetite for senior hurling in the division,” he said.

“We were probably better-prepared for the game when it was originally fixed for a fortnight ago because we were down seven or eight tonight, but the lads who were there did very well.

“There are great hurlers there, we’re very pleased with the performance. Making round four was the main target and anything else was a bonus, but we’re there now and we’ll see how we get on.”

Early on, though, the signs were that it would be Carbery who would be progressing, as they roared into the game.

Having scored an early free, Eoin Kelly was on hand to react when Ronan Crowley broke Daniel Twomey’s delivery, cleverly batting the ball past Martin Coleman.

By the 15th minute, though, a Kennefick-inspired Carrigdhoun were level, having got a hold around the middle, and they pushed two clear as Shane McCarthy and O’Brien both pointed well. Carbery had recovered their momentum by half-time, with Kelly, Twomey and John Michael O’Callaghan helping them to level, and Murphy’s sending-off seemed to tilt matters their way again.

While Carbery’s spare man, Micheál McSweeney, did well after the red card, hoovering up loose ball, they could not make it count sufficiently further up the field and scores like Fintan O’Leary’s point for Carrigdhoun punished them.

They trailed by four, 0-14 to 1-7, when Kelly was fouled for a penalty but Ronan Crowley opted to put the ball over the bar, though by the 55th minute they were just a point behind as Rory O’Sullivan and two Kelly frees kept them in it.

Carrigdhoun were wavering, sending five of six shots wide, but the one that went over, from sub Chris O’Leary, was one to savour. Carbery sub Maurice Sexton responded with his first touch, but Kennefick would have the final say, finishing with 11 to his name. The fourth round awaits, the decision to re-enter the championship vindicated.

Scorers for Carrigdhoun: M Kennefick 0-11 (eight frees, one 65), W O’Brien, F O’Leary 0-2 each, D O’Donovan, S McCarthy, C O’Leary 0-1 each.

Scorers for Carbery: E Kelly 1-4 (four frees), R Crowley 0-3 (one 65, one penalty), J Sheehan, D Twomey, JM O’Callaghan, R O’Sullivan, M Sexton 0-1 each.

CARRIGDHOUN: M Coleman (Ballinhassig); P O’Leary (Ballinhassig), E Finn (Ballinhassig), N O’Donovan (Valley Rovers); D O’Donovan (Ballinhassig), D Lynch (Valley Rovers), S White (Ballygarvan); S McCarthy (Ballinhassig), W O’Brien (Carrigaline); S Finn (Ballinhassig), F O’Leary (Ballinhassig), B Holland (Ballinhassig); E O’Reilly (Valley Rovers), T Murphy (Carrigaline), M Kennefick (Ballygarvan).

Sub: C O’Leary (Valley Rovers) for Holland (h/t).

CARBERY: J McSweeney (Bandon); M McSweeney (Newcestown), J O’Donovan (Bandon), P Crowley (Bandon); J Walsh (Bandon), R Cashman (Kilbrittain), J McCarthy (Dohenys); R O’Flynn (Ballinascarthy), J M O’Callaghan (Argideen Rangers); D Twomey (Newcestown), R O’Sullivan (Argideen Rangers), J Sheehan (Argideen Rangers); D Crowley (Bandon), E Kelly (Newcestown), R Crowley (Bandon).

Subs: K Griffin (Barryroe) for Sheehan (52), M Sexton for Twomey (56).

Referee: M Maher (St Finbarr’s).

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: BallinspittlePerson: CarberyPerson: CarrigdhounPerson: Donncha O’DonovanPerson: Tony MurphyPerson: Mark KennefickPerson: O’DonovanPerson: Wesley O’BrienPerson: Pat DesmondPerson: Eoin KellyPerson: Ronan CrowleyPerson: Daniel TwomeyPerson: Martin ColemanPerson: Shane McCarthyPerson: O’BrienPerson: KellyPerson: TwomeyPerson: John Michael O’CallaghanPerson: MurphyPerson: Micheál McSweeneyPerson: Fintan O’LearyPerson: Rory O’SullivanPerson: Chris O’LearyPerson: Maurice SextonPerson: KennefickPerson: M KennefickPerson: W O’BrienPerson: F O’LearyPerson: D O’DonovanPerson: S McCarthyPerson: C O’LearyPerson: E KellyPerson: R CrowleyPerson: J SheehanPerson: D TwomeyPerson: JM O’CallaghanPerson: R O’SullivanPerson: M SextonPerson: M ColemanPerson: P O’LearyPerson: E FinnPerson: N O’DonovanPerson: D LynchPerson: S WhitePerson: S FinnPerson: B HollandPerson: E O’ReillyPerson: T MurphyPerson: HollandPerson: J McSweeneyPerson: M McSweeneyPerson: J O’DonovanPerson: P CrowleyPerson: J WalshPerson: R CashmanPerson: KilbrittainPerson: J McCarthyPerson: R O’FlynnPerson: BallinascarthyPerson: J M O’CallaghanPerson: D CrowleyPerson: K GriffinPerson: BarryroePerson: SheehanPerson: M SextonPerson: M MaherOrganisation: CarrigdhounOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: CarberyOrganisation: BallinhassigOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: BallygarvanOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: BandonOrganisation: NewcestownOrganisation: Argideen RangersOrganisation: St Finbarr
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.