Boland saves Dublin from major shock

Dublin 2-08 Westmeath 0-13

Boland  saves  Dublin  from major  shock

But the visitors and hot favourites were so lucky to escape Mullingar with victory and a place in the July 9 decider.

Westmeath never actually led as they chased a place in a historic first final but blew it with missed chances and a wasted penalty late on.

Top scorer and senior star Niall O’Brien won a 56th-minute penalty when the scores were tied but his shot was saved. Boland, who had earlier scored a goal, punished Brian Hanley’s side with the winning point in the three minutes later.

Paul Winters opened the scoring for Dublin from a free just seconds into the contest, doubling his tally soon after. Then came a Caolan Conway point before Colm Cronin’s fifth-minute goal for the visitors.

The strike put Dublin 1-3 to 0-2 ahead and apparently in the driving seat.

But four Westmeath scores in a row levelled it up and set the tone for a tit-for-tat encounter. Those quartet of scores came from senior ace O’Brien and Aonghus Clarke, who notched two apiece, and they levelled the game at 0-6 to 1-3.

Westmeath, crucially, finished the half stronger with scores from O’Brien, David Fennell and Rob Greville. They were still tied at 0-9 to 1-6 but the hosts had vital momentum on their side.

Dublin almost got a bizarre goal five minutes after the restart. Wing-back Eoghan O’Donnell skidded a long-range shot in off the wet turf and the ball almost sneaked past the keeper. Westmeath, however, couldn’t take advantage and fired three morale-sapping wides in a row.

They were then rocked by a 42nd-minute Boland goal which put Dublin 2-6 to 0-9 ahead. Winters’ fourth of the evening soon after put Dublin four ahead.

Westmeath simply refused to wilt though, and four O’Brien frees in a row remarkably left it level again, 2-7 to 0-13.

It set up a thrilling finale and Westmeath had a great chance when O’Brien was awarded his penalty. But he blew the opportunity and Dublin capitalised through Boland with the winner.

Scorers for Dublin: C Boland 1-1, P Winters 0-4 (3f), C Cronin 1-0, C Conway 0-2, A Clabby 0-1.

Scorers for Westmeath: N O’Brien 0-8 (7f), R Greville and A Clarke 0-2 each, D Fennell 0-1.

DUBLIN: C Dooley; S McClelland, C O’Callaghan, M McCaffrey; E O’Donnell, R Murphy, C Crummy; D Gormley, C Robinson; C Cronin, K O’Flynn, P Winters; C Conway, A Clabby, O O’Rorke.

Subs: C Boland for Conway (h/t), A Jamieson Murphy for O’Donnell (44), T Devlin for Gormley (47), F McGibb for O’Flynn 52.

WESTMEATH: K Glennon; P Fennell, T Doyle, L Varley; G Greville, T Gallagher, M Heeney; D Fennell, D Lynch; R Greville, A Clarke, D Higgins; N O’Brien, C Scally, J Boyle.

Subs: N Kirby for Scally (52), Scally for D Fennell (55).

Referee: K Brady (Louth).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.253 s