Kerry leave Donaghy out of starting line-up

For the first time since 2009, Kerry will begin a championship match against Cork without Kieran Donaghy filling the number 14 shirt after he was left out of Eamonn Fitzmaurice’s side for Sunday’s Munster SFC final in Killarney (2pm).

Kerry leave Donaghy out of starting line-up

Kerry named their side earlier than expected yesterday, with Darran O’Sullivan named at corner-forward as Declan O’Sullivan moves to number 14 and Donaghy missing out. While he missed the drawn match and defeat to the Rebels four years ago, he was ruled out through injury on that occasion.

O’Sullivan’s inclusion for Donaghy is one of three amendments to the side since the comprehensive win against Waterford just over a month ago.

The other alterations come in defence. The injury-enforced absence of Aidan O’Mahony, who suffered a dislocated elbow in training last week, sees Mark Griffin (St Michael’s/Foilmore) get a championship debut at full-back. Alongside him, Shane Enright of Tarbert takes over from Fionn Fitzgerald after recovering from injury.

Ten of the Kerry side played in last year’s provincial final defeat to Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh. Griffin, Enright, Johnny Buckley, Donnchadh Walsh and corner-forward James O’Donoghue are the additions to the side since then.

The Kerry minors, managed by Mickey Ned O’Sullivan, face Tipperary – who are seeking a third consecutive provincial title – in the curtain-raiser in Fitzgerald Stadium at 12 noon on Sunday, and they have made four changes from the side which beat Waterford in the semi-final.

Robert Wharton comes in at left half-back in place of Brian Sugrue, while Conor Jordan replaces Kieran Murphy at midfield to form an all-Austin Stacks partnership with Greg Horan.

In attack, An Ghaeltacht duo Tomas Ó Sé and Éanna Ó Conchúir are replaced by captain Kevin Shanahan and Shane O’Connor at left half-forward and full-forward respectively.

Cathal Ó Lúing, David Foran, Horan, Jack Savage and Conor Keane are all survivors from the defeat to Tipp in last year’s final, while Ó Conchúir also started that match but is held in reserve this time.

KERRY (SF v Cork): B Kealy (Kilcummin); M Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), M Griffin (St Michael’s/Foilmore), S Enright (Tarbert); T Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), K Young (Renard), P Crowley (Laune Rangers); A Maher (Duagh), J Buckley (Dr Crokes); P Galvin (Finuge), C Cooper (Dr Crokes), D Walsh (Cromane); Darran O’Sullivan (Glenbeigh/Glencar), Declan O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), J O’Donoghue (Legion).

Subs: B Kelly (Legion), K Donaghy (Austin Stacks), F Fitzgerald (Dr Crokes), B Sheehan (St Mary’s), E Brosnan (Dr Crokes), K O’Leary (Dr Crokes), P Curtin (Moyvane), B McGuire (Listowel Emmets), J Sherwood (Firies), D Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys), M Geaney (Dingle).

KERRY (MF v Tipperary): S Ryan (Rathmore); F Clifford (Waterville), C Ó Lúing (An Ghaeltacht), P Ó Conchúir (Dingle); M Flaherty (Dingle), D Foran (St Senan’s), R Wharton (Renard); G Horan (Austin Stacks), C Jordan (Austin Stacks); M Burns (Dr Crokes), J Savage (Kerins O’Rahillys), K Shanahan (Ardfert); C Keane (Legion), S O’Connor (John Mitchels), K Spillane (Templenoe). Subs: D O’Shea (Ballydonoghue), É Ó Conchúir (An Ghaeltacht), T Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht), B Sugrue (Renard), T Brosnan (Dr Crokes), K Murphy (Glenflesk), T O’Sullivan (Dingle), C O’Connor (Castleisland Desmonds), B O’Sullivan (Dingle).

LAOIS (MH v Kilkenny): E Rowland (St Lazarian’s, Abbeyleix); G Dunne (The Harps), R Mullaney (Castletwon Slieve Bloom), E Cuddy (Castletown Slieve Bloom); D Palmer (Camross), C McEvoy (Portlaoise), R Delahunty (The Harps); L O’Connell (Rathdowney-Errill), C Stapleton (Borris-in-Ossory Kilcotton); J Lennon (Rosenallis), L Bergin (Shanahoe), A Corby (Clough Ballacolla); D Cripps (Shanahoe), J Campion (Borris-in-Ossory Kilcotton), S Bergin (Clough Ballacolla).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: KillarneyPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: Fitzgerald StadiumPerson: KerryPerson: DonaghyPerson: Kieran DonaghyPerson: Éamonn FitzmauricePerson: Darran O’SullivanPerson: Declan O’SullivanPerson: O’SullivanPerson: Aidan O’MahonyPerson: Mark GriffinPerson: Shane EnrightPerson: Fionn FitzgeraldPerson: GriffinPerson: EnrightPerson: Johnny BuckleyPerson: Donnchadh WalshPerson: James O’DonoghuePerson: Mickey Ned O’SullivanPerson: Robert WhartonPerson: Brian SugruePerson: Conor JordanPerson: Kieran MurphyPerson: Austin StacksPerson: Greg HoranPerson: Tomás Ó SéPerson: Eanna Ó ConchúirPerson: Kevin ShanahanPerson: Shane O’ConnorPerson: Cathal O LuingPerson: David ForanPerson: HoranPerson: Jack SavagePerson: Conor KeanePerson: Ó ConchúirPerson: KilcumminPerson: M Ó SéPerson: M GriffinPerson: S EnrightPerson: T Ó SéPerson: K YoungPerson: RenardPerson: P CrowleyPerson: A MaherPerson: DuaghPerson: J BuckleyPerson: Dr CrokesPerson: P GalvinPerson: C CooperPerson: D WalshPerson: CromanePerson: GlenbeighPerson: GlencarPerson: Dromid PearsesPerson: J O’DonoghuePerson: B KellyPerson: K DonaghyPerson: F FitzgeraldPerson: B SheehanPerson: E BrosnanPerson: K O’LearyPerson: P CurtinPerson: MoyvanePerson: B McGuirePerson: Listowel EmmetsPerson: J SherwoodPerson: FiriesPerson: D MoranPerson: Kerins O’RahillysPerson: M GeaneyPerson: S RyanPerson: RathmorePerson: F CliffordPerson: C Ó LúingPerson: P O ConchuirPerson: M FlahertyPerson: D ForanPerson: St Senan’sPerson: R WhartonPerson: G HoranPerson: C JordanPerson: M BurnsPerson: J SavagePerson: K ShanahanPerson: ArdfertPerson: C KeanePerson: LegionPerson: S O’ConnorPerson: John MitchelsPerson: K SpillanePerson: TemplenoePerson: D O’SheaPerson: BallydonoghuePerson: É Ó ConchúirPerson: GhaeltachtPerson: B SugruePerson: T BrosnanPerson: K MurphyPerson: GlenfleskPerson: T O’SullivanPerson: C O’ConnorPerson: B O’SullivanPerson: LAOISPerson: MHPerson: E RowlandPerson: LazarianPerson: AbbeyleixPerson: G DunnePerson: The HarpsPerson: R MullaneyPerson: Castletwon Slieve BloomPerson: E CuddyPerson: Castletown Slieve BloomPerson: D PalmerPerson: CamrossPerson: C McEvoyPerson: PortlaoisePerson: R DelahuntyPerson: HarpsPerson: L O’ConnellPerson: Rathdowney-ErrillPerson: C StapletonPerson: Borris-in-Ossory KilcottonPerson: J LennonPerson: RosenallisPerson: L BerginPerson: ShanahoePerson: A CorbyPerson: Clough BallacollaPerson: D CrippsPerson: J CampionPerson: S BerginEvent: Munster SFC finalOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: St MichaelOrganisation: TarbertOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: TippOrganisation: SFOrganisation: An GhaeltachtOrganisation: St Michael’sOrganisation: FoilmoreOrganisation: Laune RangersOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: DingleOrganisation: CastleislandOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: St
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.275 s